Announcing…

Welcome to the new site Mothers With Cancer.  This site was conceived (that must be the right term) two weeks ago today and we’ve been very busy getting the place ready for your visit.  The curtains are hung, the furniture is in place, there are brownies in the oven, and we’re all gussied up and ready to greet you. 

As you can see by the inaugural posts, we are sixteen mothers with cancer, but we are not to be pitied.  Instead, we hope that you look at us together and see strength.  Determination.  Feistiness, even.  For we are committed to fighting this beast and soothing our children’s fears even as we go in to battle for them. 

Our initial posts, those you see on the site today and those that will be added shortly, introduce the cast of sixteen, our kids, our diagnosis, and what we’ve been through in a nutshell.  But they also tell another story: the story of strong women who were not intimidated by cold rooms, dismissive doctors, or inconvenient timing.  In these posts, each writer has laid bare for you the stirrings of uncertainty at an unfamiliar pain, a lump, or a suspicion that something just wasn’t right.  We’ve walked you through the first exams, tests, and each diagnosis so that you can understand a bit of what we experienced the day that we heard those awful words, “You have cancer.”  We want to talk more about our reasons for fighting, dilemnas we’re facing, and our love for our children, but we have to start somewhere, so we decided to begin at the beginning.

Read on, and meet sixteen amazing women.  Listen to their stories.  Leave encouraging comments.  Talk about this on your own sites if you like, and link back to us so that other mothers who are newly diagnosed, or still struggling, can find us (we’ll happily link back to you, in gratitude).  There is strength in numbers, and it is this strength that we are seeking to build with this site.  As we lay the foundation this week and over the next few months, we welcome your involvement, participation, and encouragement, for it can be incredibly lonely fighting cancer, and, until we heard those fateful words, most of us didn’t realize how terribly difficult it would be. 

After all, none of us were prepared for this.  None of us went into motherhood thinking, “Oh, I’ll have my first baby and try for my second, and then I’ll get cancer, spend a year in chemotherapy, lose my hair, and fall out of touch with playdates and friends while my child wonders why I’m on the couch all the time and can’t play with him.”  None of us ever thought that we’d be the ones to get cancer.

But, over time, 1 in 3 will get cancer.  So pull up a chair and join us, won’t you?  Hopefully we can share some knowledge that will help you or a friend one day, and you can share your strength with us, sixteen mothers with cancer.

8 Responses to Announcing…

  1. Laurie says:

    This is a wonderful launch post! And thank you for saying that “we are not to be pitied.” You do sum it all up really well.

  2. whymommy says:

    Thanks — it’s easy with so many strong women to brag about!

  3. sprucehillfarm says:

    Such a great launching post. I feel stronger just reading it. It is great to be doing this with such courage and strength around me.

  4. Lindsey says:

    I’m so glad for your new site…heard about it on Twitter!

  5. onetuffgrrl says:

    I stumbled upon this site accidentally, but find it very interesting! I am a long time breast cancer warrior, 11 years since my first diagnosis, and 8 years since finding out I had metastasis.

    My kids were only 3 and 6 when I was first diagnosed…they don’t even remember mom before cancer.

    The road for me has been a crazy one. In addition to my initial diagnosis I’ve made it through a second primary tumor on the other breast, metastasis to the bones, ovaries, and most recently the lungs, a broken neck, 5 different chemos, yet I’ve managed to work fulltime throughout.

    Some days I rock, some days I barely hang on…but I am still here and that says something.

    Sue, who is just tough enough.

  6. i’m going to go post now linking back to you…thank you for a nice read tonight…it’s so nice to know I’m not alone out there in blogland!
    Jodi

  7. 1 in 3 will get cancer, but most will get it after 60….

    Curious what the statistic are for women in their 30s. I was 39 when I was first diagnose.

    It is powerful to be part of such a strong group!!

    And encouraging to read about Sue (onetuffgrrl), who has been dealing with metastasis for EIGHT years! YAY. Keep on Truckin’!! — I don’t understand how you manage to work full time! I push myself to keep working part time!

    RivkA

  8. onetuffgrrl says:

    Work has been a great distraction for me, especially since my lymphangytic (lung) mets was discovered last fall. All I can say is that without something (like work) I would spend far too much time throwing my own personal pity party. I tend to think I need another outlet for all my pent up aggressions about having cancer, work is perfect for that.

    Open invite to all to join me (and many other brave souls) over at http://www.bcmets.org. Read, post, lurk if you like, but it’s a great place to meet other mets warriors.

    Peace.
    Sue

