Women Of Silence…

I came across the book, which the poem I am about to share with you came from, via my mother meeting the amazing woman that wrote it! She wandered into my mums office one day and explained to mum who she was. They got chatting and of course mum talked with her about my journey as it was similar to hers in many ways. Grace was very interested as she had actually been through an ileostomy (even though the book leans towards breast cancer), so she was really understanding, sweet and kind. She had a copy of her book in her bag so she gave it to mum and asked her to pass it on to me with her love and blessings.

Mum gave me the book a few days later and I popped it on my bookshelf and thought I would get around to reading it ‘someday’ but I wasn’t really, truly all that interested as it was (so I thought) for women with breast cancer which I don’t have. The book sat there for quite a few months and then, one evening, I was desperate for something to read and that was the only book on my shelf at that time that I hadn’t yet read so I picked it up….and didn’t put it down again until I had finished it. It was such a great read. So inspiring. Grace Adamson is a truly remarkable woman! So the poem I am about to copy below touched me so very deeply it made me cry (which actually did me some good because I don’t cry easily). I have shared it before on my blog but it was before I was told my cancer was back, so my blog at that time was more about scrapbooking and stuff. Anyway I thought I would share it here in the hopes that it touches somebody else the way it did me.

Woman Of Silence

Woman of silence, gentle and strong,
Tell me your path, where it first went wrong.
Tell me your story, how you’ve coped with your life.
Tell me about all the trouble and the strife.

I see how you’ve coped, withholding the pain,
I feel your soul weeping and yet you refrain
From sharing your losses, your grief and your fears
But you know, they multiply over the years.

Until one day your inner wisdom says “no more”.
And you awake with an illness, a fiery core
That’s fuelled by a lifestyle out of control,
Too much held too often has taken its toll.

It’s time to rethink, reassess how it’s been
And develop a strategy previously unseen.
There is a way to heal with heart and great passion.
Let go of withholding that was always your fashion.

Nurture yourself and make yourself whole.
Live your life fully and realize your goals.
Women of Silence, gentle and strong,
Find the courage to heal, and to sing your heart’s song.

I hope it moved somebody as it did me. Take care.

7 Responses to Women Of Silence…

  1. deezee says:

    thanks for sharing this… 🙂

  2. bcjenster says:

    That was beautiful. And boy can I relate as I am definitely a withholder.

    Thank you so much for sharing this.

  3. This is so good for me to keep rereading… Thank you!

  4. Karen says:

    I remember reading it when you originally posted it and how much it moved me then – reading it again I am finding even more to relate to in it.
    Thanks for sharing this again
    love and hugs
    K xx

  5. alison says:

    thanks for posting that. i’ve never been a woman of silence, and i’m glad that i don’t have to break old habits now. i’ve pretty much told everything that’s happened to me since my diagnosis. both in person and on LJ. i know that getting it all out of my system helps me deal with it. and help other people think about it, and maybe do something about little niggling worries they may have…

    talk is good, eh?

  6. whymommy says:

    Alison, I’m glad you’re here and left a comment. I’ll add you to our blogroll of mothers with cancer … come back soon, ‘k?

    Oh, and if you know of other mothers with cancer on LiveJournal (or elsewhere) who might like to be listed on our blogroll, I would be very happy to add them — just leave a comment on the posts or the support tab up above and I’ll snag the URLs. Thanks!

