contribution to society-life 101

I am not famous enough to help raise billions of dollars for breast cancer, or powerful enough to give influence. You will never see me running with the olympic torch. But what I can do is have the forum to speak to young up and coming doctors about my sickness cancer.

I am able and capable of getting in a taxi, riding across town and spontaneously answering some questions given to me by my psychologist. Yes, I believe a shrink is necessary to get through cancer. I can’t rely completely on unprofessional help. Thee have been melt down points when even love-of-my-life asked me to call the professionals in for advise.

So I am a little nervous because this will all take place in a conference setting with stadium seating. I was earlier in my life, just after grad school, a college professor. I returned to this field in Holland when we were planning a baby. The combo between teaching and children sounded good. Both times I spoke English all day long. Now I have to brush up on my Dutch, otherwise I won’t be credible. All I want to do is make my contribution to society today. Even if it is in some small way, like this post, or in a grand scale this afternoon. Wish me luck! sorry for the cross post on cancervisa

4 Responses to contribution to society-life 101

  1. whymommy says:

    Whoo-hoo! Good luck! Tell us how it went, eh?

  2. That is wonderful news, good on you for making a difference somehow, if we all do something to make people more aware I think we can truly make a difference. I wish you so much luck and hope the Dutch holds out really well for you, you are a brave woman for doing this and I am sure you will really get them thinking. Go Girl!!!

  3. Jenster says:

    Good for you!! The better we can make things for others the more victorious we are against cancer.

  4. jillaldrich says:

    I don’t know how to say “rock the hell on!” in Dutch 🙂 I think it’s easier to speak in front of a crowd when I really know my topic. And you *really* know your topic. Let us know how it goes.

