mammaprint – insurances refuse coverage

I wrote a while back in my cancervisa blog about a dutch discovery mammaprint. Basically they analyse a tumor cell and can accurately predict longevity with 90 percent accuracy. This would save senseless chemotherapy for some and give a better read out for the doctors. The problem is that health insurance companies are not paying for the screening. I can’t be more outraged.

5 Responses to mammaprint – insurances refuse coverage

  1. Jenster says:

    To quote my son, “Insurance companies are of the devil.”

    I wonder if they’re not covering these tests because they’re still so new. Give it 50 years or so to prove their track record and then maybe they’ll start covering them.

  2. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    EVIL, I tell you. They are Ee-hee-hee-vil. (too much Scrubs, I’m starting to channel Dr. Cox)

  3. bcjenster says:

    Throwslikeagirl – can you ever have too much Scrubs??

  4. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Hee hee. No. I guess you can’t.

