Your turn to ask the questions!

Before I get to the meat of today’s post, there are a few tidbits to share with you today. First and foremost, I encourage you to go visit Andrea (PunkRockMommy) today if you haven’t yet. She’s doing some beautiful writing, and some beautiful things as she enters hospice. We love you, Andrea!

Susan Reynolds is healing after her recent surgery, although she’s not sure she’d do reconstruction again. We wish you quick and easy healing, Susan.

Welcome to two of our newest writers at Mothers With Cancer, Throws Like a Girl and Jill, of Reconstruct This. We look forward to hearing more of what you have to say!

Here’s an interesting look at the value of communication when a family member is diagnosed with cancer.

Our friend Talking Budgie let us know about a sad passing of one of our Australian sisters last night. In her words:

One of Australia’s most wonderful breast cancer advocates and fundraisers passed away over the weekend. Jane McGrath set up a foundation which notably raised money for the placement of breast care nurses in rural and regional Australia – ensuring the care of those in remote locations.

I thought she should be acknowledged here. She did so much for breast cancer awareness in Australia. http://www.mcgrathfoundation.com

And now, a bit of fun news. We have several friends of MWC who would like to write guest posts for us. First up is an expert on helping children who have parents with cancer. Are there any burning questions that you’d like to ask her? If so, leave them here and we’ll conduct and publish a full interview next week. We also have interest from a chemo nurse willing to talk about the process or the emotions from her perspective … any questions for her? And lastly, I’d like to open up the floor to any visitors here who have questions for the moms. Do you want to know more about living with metastatic cancer? What about life after earlier stage cancer is treated and declared in remission? What’s remission all about, anyway? Leave your questions here and we’ll set up some posts!

3 Responses to Your turn to ask the questions!

  1. bcjenster says:

    I’m really interested to hear the chemo nurse’s perspective. I am of the firm belief only angels are chemo nurses. They are the nicest and most compassionate health professionals I’ve ever known.

  2. I have a question regarding talking with kids that has been occupying my thoughts for several weeks now.

    I speak openly with my kids about my cancer. In the beginning, I asked them every few weeks about how they were feeling and if they have any questions.

    Now, the family is used to my weekly routine of chemo, and cancer does not seem to be much of an issue.

    When I raise the subject of my cancer, no one seems to have any questions or much interest in the subject.

    I wonder if I still need to bring it up or just wait until they raise a new issue.

    I wonder how to evaluate, when they do not behave well, what is “normal” and what might be affected/exacerbated by the cancer.

    I wonder if it is possible that my kids have simply accepted the cancer as a “fact of life” and really don’t give it much thought. (It certainly seems that way — which seems normal to me. I have a teen and two tweens. It seems natural that they should be focussed on themselves and not their mother….)

  3. jillaldrich says:

    Whymommy, thank you for providing this “safe place” where people can ask their questions. It’s invaluable.

    I’d also like to respond to Rivka. Rivka, My children, like yours I’m sure, are compassionate beings. My son, who was 14 ehen I was diagnosed 2 years ago, asked me after every single appointment (biopsy, surgeon, plastic surgeon, oncologist, etc.) how it went. But after that, he and his sister, who then was 10, were largely quiet. I’ve since found that it was their way of taking in and processing some terrifically frightening information. I believe they gave it much thought. Actually, I think they gave it much feeling and much thought. But articulating it made it too real. We used a lot of humor to diffuse the tension.

    I’d like to hear what a pro says about it, though.

