Osteopenia

The results from my bone density test came back. Osteopenia – my bone mineral density is lower than normal. My doctor was not too surprised or worried. I currently take 1500 mg of Calcium daily with 375 IU of Vitamin D. They want me to up the Vitamin D by another 400 IU’s per day. So I will just add 2 more pills to my daily regimen. Perhaps even more important is weight bearing exercise. I have been trying to exercise 3 to 4 hours per week since getting through chemo etc, but now an even more important reason to stay consistent. Walking is still the best and it is important for your spine and hips to stay dense, but that does not do too much for your upper body. She suggested Yoga or Pilates for a good overall solution. (I can hear my sister cheering as I type this – she has been trying to get me to into Yoga for years!)

So overall nothing to be too concerned about – I guess just another of those pesky new normal issues that we have to live with.

4 Responses to Osteopenia

  1. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Hooray for normal problems! 🙂

  2. imstell says:

    Ugh. My doc wants to do a bone density test too. I already take a whole basketful of pills every day. I don’t want to take any more. Grrr.

  3. jillaldrich says:

    Sometimes these “normal” issues feel a smidge unfair and get me a little pissed off. You have a great attitude, though, and one I’m going to adopt.

  4. bcjenster says:

    Yup. Another new normal. Frankly, I kind of liked my old normal.

