In memorium

I have nothing really to say. Andrea is gone. She passed away this morning with her family close by her side. She has left us with some parting words of wisdom, however.

I didn’t know Andrea except through her blog. It doesn’t matter, though. I still sit here posting through my tears at the untimely departure of a sister and friend. Her writing was honest and raw. Full of grace and praise when there could easily have been rancor and spite. She made me, in the words of Jack Nicholson, want to be a better person.

Say a special prayer tonight for our friend Andrea, Punk Rock Mommy, and her family. The blogosphere has dimmed a bit with her passing.

Good-bye, Andrea, until we meet in Heaven.

10 Responses to In memorium

  1. justenjoyhim says:

    Oh, I am so sorry to hear this. Really sorry. I have no words either, except some choice ones that I won’t use here. She was definitely one of the good ones. I feel so for her family and friends.

  2. […] and wisdom. Not knowing what else to say, I hope you visit Stella’s words about Andrea in her In Memorium post on Mothers With Cancer. She says it better than I could […]

  3. bcjenster says:

    Knowing this was coming is small comfort right now. Her husband and her children are in my thoughts and prayers.

    The one thing I keep coming back to is what an incredible mark she made on this world. Most people can live to 100 and never leave any kind of legacy. She may be gone, but she will never be forgotten.

  4. sprucehillfarm says:

    I am very sad. I am happy though that she is no longer in pain and is in a far better place.

  5. Laurie says:

    So sad. My heart breaks for her family. Her last post is so very moving. What a strong woman she was.

  6. jillaldrich says:

    This is s lovely tribute. Thank you, Stella.

    Punk Rock Mommy, and her articulate/cool/individualistic/genuine soul lives on.

  7. Roads says:

    ‘Live for today, and let shallow resentment go.’ Such true words, and so bravely spoken.

  8. whymommy says:

    She will never be forgotten.

  9. […] honor of Andrea In honor of Andrea, I’m doing one simple thing today, and I’m asking you to do it too. If you have […]

  10. What an amazing woman she was, she will no doubt have left behind a legacy of strength to follow in her footsteps. I didn’t know Andrea personally either but her blog touched me and when I was frightened, her words helped me move past my fear because she was facing the ultimate and did so with such bravery and such grace. Rest in Peace Dear Andrea.

