on perspective

I have a new post up at MyBreastCancerNetwork.Com:

A shift in my priorities occurred when I found out that my cancer had metastasized. And those priorities have not really shifted back now that my prognosis is more hopeful.It’s not so much a matter of living every day as if it could be my last (I don’t actually think that would feel healthy or peaceful). It’s more that I try and savour each new day like an ice cream sundae, appreciating each new flavour, right down to the last little bits in the bottom of the glass (I always did have a sweet tooth).

Lately, I have been forgetting to live this way. It’s time to slow down again, enjoy my life and take pleasure in the things that give me joy.

You can read the rest of this post here.

You can read more of my writing at Not Just About Cancer.

2 Responses to on perspective

  1. Jill Aldrich says:

    A great list. You expressed what I’ve been thinking and feeling, which is more centered, present and grateful.

  2. Laurie, “It’s more that I try and savour each new day like an ice cream sundae, appreciating each new flavour, right down to the last little bits in the bottom of the glass ” I think this is just a brilliant description of what it is like to appreciate living when you have had or still have cancer. It is not like we live our lives as though every day is our last and we’re on some mad race, well perhaps some folks do but , as you pointed out that’s wouldn’t be healthy or peaceful, I believe it is just an appreciation for things, I definitely have a stronger appreciation for certain things more so than before I was ill. Anyway, I just wanted to say thanks for explaining it so perfectly. Take good care, Jen x

