I Feel Triumphant

 Tomorrow will be my last chemo treatment! I will walk through those automatic doors only one more time to get toxic chemicals pumped into my veins. I will be hooked up for the last time to a pole through my port. I will only spend one more anxious night worrying about going to sleep before my treatment. I will spend only one more week with symptoms from chemo drugs. I will look forward to my future and planing fun things to do and not worry about if it is a chemo weekend or not. I will not have to take all that medication anymore. I will be free of appointments and weekly doctors visits. I will walk out of the infusion center confidently, triumphantly, and strong. Because I have kicked cancer’s ass!

Cross posted on http://sprucehill.typepad.com/

8 Responses to I Feel Triumphant

  1. Lizabeta says:

    Congratulations! That is a perfect little knickknack for how you feel, isn’t it?

  2. Laurie says:

    Hooray! At my cancer centre there is a bell for patients to ring as they leave their last treament. I hope there is a bell for you to ring, too.

  3. Jill Aldrich says:

    I always cry when I hear/read the boundless joy in someone’s “last chemo” declaration. It makes me happy for you, and it makes me happy for me. You kicked cancer booty! Warmest congratulations.

  4. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Hooray! I’ll be with you soon! Two more. Then RadiationLand.

  5. whymommy says:

    Congratulations! This is totally wonderful! Whoo-hoo!

  6. imstell says:

    Congratulations!!! I was given the same figurine to celebrate my clean bill of health.

  7. WTG!!

    (just curious, why did they put in a port, if you only needed chemo for a limited amount of time — you can respond off list: coffeeandchemo@gmail.com)

