a tribute to punk rock mommy

The following is an excerpt of a tribute to our friend Andrea, that I wrote for MyBreastCancerNetwork.Com:

In her final weeks, Andrea continued to blog. She shared with us her decision not to undergo further treatment (made in concert with her husband and kids) and to begin palliative care. She wrote of her pain and sadness but also of her joy in living and her love for her children and her husband, Kelly. And she wrote her own final blog post, to be posted on the day of her death:

“Cancer treatment is hard. Really hard. The chemo, scans, medications…it is physically daunting. I was willing to subject myself to it all to have even a little more time with my husband, children, and loved ones. It was worth it. I would say that I packed a lot of living into that year while I was dying. I was still me. I was still engaged with my friends. I still was able to love and be here for all of them when they needed me. I still changed diapers and played games. Kelly and I fought like a married couple and loved like one too.”

It is clear from her blog that Andrea was a spirited, talented and creative woman, as well as devoted mother, friend and spouse. She was so much more than her cancer. I am sure that she inspired many, many others in the way that she has inspired me.

I found the piece very hard to write but felt that Andrea deserved it. I am not sure, however, that any tribute would do this awesome woman justice.

You can read the rest here.

2 Responses to a tribute to punk rock mommy

  1. cancervisa says:

    Bless you, you are stronger than many of us.

  2. Jill Aldrich says:

    This tribute took my breath away. It absolutely did Andrea justice, Laurie.

