What a load of smelly animal feces.

Ok.  That’s not what I wrote on my blog, but this being Mothers with Cancer I thought I’d sanitize a bit.  I ran across this article on the Time Website done by CNN.

CNN published an article reporting that Self Breast Exams may cause more harm than good.

How many of us, especially those under 40, found our cancers through some sort of self exam? 

I can’t say it enough.  Most of the time the ONLY way a young woman finds a lump is through a self exam.  I would rather have 20 clean “unnecessary” biopsies than one malignant one. 

Wouldn’t you?

Perhaps I’m biased having cancer and all.

9 Responses to What a load of smelly animal feces.

  1. imstell says:

    Nicole – I wouldn’t have cleaned it up one bit. Call a spade a spade. That’s always been my motto anyway. Of course it’s gotten me in a fair amount of uncomfortable situations over the years as well.

    I had three lumpectomies for benign fibroid tumors prior to ever being diagnosed with breast cancer. The first when I was only 17 years old. In fact, I had a fairly large one in my non-cancerous breast when it was removed. All four were discovered during routine self-exams. Two I had to point out to my doctors who could not find them during their exams. The second doubled in size in 2 weeks time. Who knows what would have happened with that one had it been left to it’s own devices.

    Only through reading The Mayor’s list of breast cancer risks at World Wide Breast Cancer ( http://worldwidebreastcancer.com/investigation/breast-cancer-risks/ ) did I learn that a history of previous breast biopsies places you at higher risk.

    Knowing your body is NEVER a bad thing. Quite the opposite. Knowledge is power. In fact, if I’d had that last little bit of knowledge before I wouldn’t have been so smug in my supposed lack of family history.

  2. whymommy says:

    I found my own cancer. And my mother-in-law found hers too.

    This is ridiculous.

  3. It will be interesting to see how other groups respond to this study. It really did not seem like they studied a very large group of people. A self exam saved my life – but I guess I would skew their results.

  4. sprucehillfarm says:

    I totally agree. I think it is a crock of —-.

  5. jillaldrich says:

    Huh? A self exam saved my life, too.

  6. Just disgusting isn’t it, I only hope that women don’t take this seriously, an article like that should be banned, honestly it could cost lives!

  7. Karen says:

    That article appeared in the paper in Melbourne yetersday too – must have been written by a man. I loved the final sentence basically – don’t worry, you can have a mammogram when you are 50!!!!!!!

  8. My mother discovered her cancer in a self exam, right after a surgeon’s exam. The surgeon missed it. My mother found it herself.

  9. 3GirlzNaBoy says:

    That’s a crock! I found mine so I have no idea what they are talking about.

    Rubbish,

    Mona
    HER2 Positive Breast Cancer Survivor, pre-op 7/22/08

