How A Technophobe Became a Blogger….

What was I supposed to do?

I was supposed to be done with cancer!

Instead, the cancer was back and had mysteriously spread from my no-longer-existing breast to my bones, liver and lungs.

Suddenly everyone wanted to know how I am doing.

I could barely cope with the news. Every time I talked about it, I started crying.

I could not make a million phone calls. I did not have time to send either personal or group emails.

I had three young children and I did not know how I was going to get through the next twenty four hours. (That panic persisted for weeks!)

Still, I did not want to blow off my family and friends.

A friend suggested I use a blogging site for people dealing with health issues. It made sense, but I did not want my identity to be defined by illness. So…. I found a user friendly, “normal” blogging site, and, despite my latent technophobia, decided to jump right in and start blogging…. I just needed to choose a blog name…

Wow, that was almost as hard as choosing names for my kids!
(Did I mention that my first child had no name for over two weeks?!!)

Late one Saturday night, my husband and I were hanging out with a serious blogger friend and his wife. For over an hour, we brainstormed about a name for my blog. We came up with…. nothing. (worse than nothing — we had a list of really lame names). At midnight, we called it quits.

As we were leaving, I mentioned that I was making “coffee and chemo” dates with friends.

“That’s it!!” shouted our blogger friend, “that’s the name of your blog!!”

And so it is….

http://www.coffeeandchemo.blogspot.com/

(Cross posted on my regular blog, here)

3 Responses to How A Technophobe Became a Blogger….

  1. imstell says:

    I’ve always loved the title of your blog. It seems so inspired. And now I know what the inspiration was! How great!

  2. Jill Aldrich says:

    Nothing goes with cytoxan like a little caffeine! Thank you for creating your thought-provoking blog, RivkA.

  3. Y’all make me laugh!!

    Thanks!

