Cancer causing chemicals in our cosmetics

I am by no means an expert on cancer causing chemicals. I will say this though. One day I didn’t have breast cancer. The next day I did. No family history. Insignificant risk factors. This gets me thinking that there has to be some sort of environmental component to it. As I began my research, I was appalled to find out that there is no government agency policing what goes into our cosmetics, shampoos, etc. There are chemicals in them that Europe has banned for years. Most recently you may have read about BPAand baby bottles. Anyway, I made a decision to try and use only the safest products I could find. Sadly, that doesn’t come cheap. One thing in particular to look for are parabens. And they are in EVERYTHING. Check your shampoo or lotion, I can almost guarantee you that there is a -paraben in it some where. A tool I’ve been using to make better choices is the Cosmetics Database. My latest find is that Origins (while pricey) has voluntarily started formulating their products without parabens. I got myself some Shedonism lotion and I love it. Nice and thick to help combat my chemo drained skin. Luckily a little goes a long way.

Other links for cosmetic safety:

Think Before You Pink

FDA page on Parabens

3 Responses to Cancer causing chemicals in our cosmetics

  1. Jill Aldrich says:

    Important topic. I’ll be sure to post to the “In the News” section we are planning. Thanks!

  2. Laurie says:

    I am so glad you blogged about this! I have been trying to replace the products I use to t those without carcinogens and it’s a huge challenge!

  3. If you have the time/energy/inclination — you can make your own soap from all natural ingredients.

    To be honest, I don’t do it myself. But a good friend of mine makes her own soaps and even laundry detergent…. and she swears that it is easy.

    You can find out how to do it online… for free. 😉

