younger adults and cancer

Recently, on a morning that I had to go for chemotherapy, my five year old son drew me a picture. It depicts him and me, walking in the sunshine and holding hands. We have big smiles on our faces.

He made me promise that I would take it with me to chemo and post it where everyone could see it. “It will make you feel better,” he said.

And it really did.

When I settled into the hospital bed to get ready for the infusion, I pulled the drawing out of my bag and put it on my tray table. Right away, a nurse came to admire it. She gave me a bit of surgical tape so I could affix it where I could see it. For the rest of the four hours I spent in the chemo room, nurses and other staff kept stopping what they were doing to ask me about the drawing.

I think it served as reminder that the patients they work with are people with lives and loved ones. I think it made them look at me more closely. I think it also brought them up short to see such a concrete reminder that this particular patient is the mother to really little kids.

You can read the rest of this post at MyBreastCancerNetwork.Com. I also blog at Not Just About Cancer.

5 Responses to younger adults and cancer

  1. whymommy says:

    I love this. Those reminders are SO important, I think. I took a little photo album of my kids to each chemo treatment and set it up on the tray table. It helped me get through the treatment, remembering why I was doing it, and I think it helped the nurses a little too. (Because, really? A smiling baby face in the chemo ward? Awesome.)

    I remember going to the surgeon for the first time, for a pre-op mastectomy consultation. I prepared my scans, my reports, and my pictures for the visit, and then I threw in a picture of my little boys by their swingset. Just to help personalize the experience, to help her see that I was loved by somebody who needed me. When she came in to talk to me, guess which picture she was holding? Yup. Turns out she has twin boys the age of mine, and we got along famously.

    Thanks for reminding me.

  2. imstell says:

    Yes. My sitter made me a mini photo book of both boys to take to chemo each time. All the nurses would come in one by one to see the new pictures. One chemo appointment I spent making out birthday party invitations. Another, thank you cards.

    It is helpful, in a field full of older patients, to remind the medical professionals occasionally that we are young mothers with young families who depend on us.

  3. […] Original post by Medical,Health News and Articles […]

  4. bcjenster says:

    This post made me smile. A huge, heart-warmed grin. Once I got past the sadness of the circumstances.

