Scrapbooking

Do you keep a scrapbook?  Do you?  I did.  I used to take photographs all the time, upload them to an online site, and get prints made every month.  Then I’d put them in neatly labeled and captioned books, or make online books every 6 months for my kids and their grandparents.  All that stopped on my date, June 16, 2007.  I have still been taking pictures, but I have NOT been sending them off, printing them out, or otherwise looking at them at all, beyond the occasional post to my blog to show the progress of my disease or a particularly cute hat.  Today, that changed.  Today, I realized that I owe this to my children, to stand up and look at the photos of their first and third year, respectively, and to select the photos that they’ll use to remember this time with Mommy and Daddy.  It’s what needs to be done.

But it’s so, so hard to look at photos of that bald head.

9 Responses to Scrapbooking

  1. sprucehillfarm says:

    I used to do that too. But it stopped with my third child. poor thing she has not photo album!

    I always duck out when the camera comes out. I hate getting my picture taken. I don’t want to remember being bald.

  2. Remember that slogan “bald is beautiful”?

    Don’t hide yourself away. Your kids will treasure those pictures — because they will always see you (your inner you) with them.

    I wish I was put together enough to even think of organizing pics.

    I never got it together to organize my pics, even BC (before cancer).

    I have several giant boxes filled with pictures. I can never find the time to organize them the way I want.

    If I can let go enough, I will let my eldest daughter organize the pics any way she wants.

  3. Jill Aldrich says:

    I’m with RivkA: I wish I was put together enough to even think of organizing photos.

    My life is a little out of control at the moment.

    I am, however, going to frame some photos this summer. At least that’s my intention.

  4. imstell says:

    Susan,
    My diagnosis actually had the opposite effect on me. I’ve always rocked the photo organizational skillz (if I do say so myself) but had no (or very few) printed pictures after I went digital.

    Somewhere in my chemo year I realized that no one else would ever take the time to document these years if I was gone. Effectively, the boy’s childhood would be lost. So I began the online album. I use My Publisher Bookmaker software. It downloads to your PC and you can build your album at your leisure. As I download from my camera, I take the best & just drag & drop them to the album. Then print it every hundred pages.

    Also, when you are a little farther away from treatment you won’t mind the bald head quite so much. I hated it at the time but now look back at those pictures with such a sense of accomplishment!

  5. marnini says:

    I am not a mother with cancer but recently lost my father to cancer.
    I can tell you, that your children will not care when they are looking at pictures whether you were bald or not.
    A smile can make a bald head invisible to the eye.
    God Bless you and your family.

    Maribeth

  6. whymommy says:

    Oh, wow. Thank you, Maribeth. For my kids, I will do it.

    I suspect it won’t be easy. . . but what is?

  7. lisa sanford says:

    I applaud you for recommitting your time and energy to get back to some level of scrapbooking. Don’t forget to share those bad and sad moments…what greater legacy for you to leave than one of transparency and truth.

    Cervical Cancer survivor

  8. k8 says:

    I scrapped pics of myself bald (or wigged) on Thanksgiving, my last birthday, and Christmas…………and make a scrapbook of all ‘this cancer stuff.’ The pictures are terrible…………but they capture moments in time………..that’s what scrapbooking is all about…………..

    k8

  9. k8 says:

    oops – I meant to say I made a scrapbook of all ‘this cancer stuff’……….I’m not giving orders!

    k8

