It’s the little things….

One of my boys has a habit of twisting a lock of his hair absentmindedly when he is tired or thinking intently.

I think it’s adorable.

Another mother and I were at the playground this weekend and she remarked that her daughter does the same thing. And then she went a step further, saying confidently, “She used to twist my hair the same way when we cuddled. Did your boy?”

Um.

Not really.

But only because I didn’t have any hair for him to twist.

Stupid cancer. I was minding my own business, just enjoying watching my kids play and talking to another mom, and there you are again. The elephant in the room. The buttinski, the interrupter, the drunk guy at the cocktail party, leaning unwelcomely on my shoulder and making things unpleasant.

Really. I just want to hang out with my friends sometimes, ya know?

It wasn’t her fault. She didn’t know. So I just smiled, answered noncommittedly, and changed the subject.

What would you have done?

3 Responses to It’s the little things….

  1. same.

    I’m very open. But, sometimes, I just want to be a “normal” mom….

  2. clergygirl says:

    its crazy those comments that bring you crashing back to reality. No one means to do it, it just happens. I hope you were able to brush it off an enjoy the moment. I smiled at the familiarity. Can’t wait for my hair to come back!

  3. justenjoyhim says:

    I probably wouldn’t have said anything either.

    It’s a different experience, admittedly, but I was teaching a class this summer and the instructor for the class said: “You cut your hair! It’s really cute!”

    It caught me off guard for a moment, but I just said, “Thank you.” I didn’t tell her that my new hair style wasn’t a choice but because I lost all of my hair recently. But it was one of those things that just brought the whole “losing my hair” experience back to me. But — she didn’t know. It was an innocent comment and I didn’t want to get into the whole “oh hey, that’s because I had cancer” thing. So I just accepted the compliment and went on with things.

    In other words, I would have done exactly the same thing that you did and not gone into any great detail about the “whys” of your answer.

