surgery tomorrow . . .

and I’m as ready as I’ll ever be.

I’m pretty calm about it right now. Frank and I have to be at the hospital at 5:30 a.m. which is just inhumane, but so be it. *YAWN* I did get a message on the answering machine from a friend offering to take Nate overnight tonight if we needed her to so that was an absolute godsend. So Nate will stay with her and her husband and three children so she can take him to school tomorrow at a reasonable time (not that the school is even open at 5:00 a.m.!!). Then the plans are set in motion for who gets Nate which nights, who brings dinner over which nights, etc. We have so many people who care for us and are taking care of us. We are blessed.

I’m sure I’ll be nervous about the surgery tomorrow, but right now I feel calm. God will be with me throughout all of it, and I have a wonderful surgeon who is very skilled and very compassionate.

I’ll be fine. As far as the emotional aspects of this, I won’t put myself into the future and try to predict how I’ll feel. Today is enough for now, tomorrow will come soon enough, and I’ll deal with the future when it comes.

If I become weary, I hope to remember these words:

Those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.
Isaiah 40: 31

Thank you, everyone, for all of your prayers and good thoughts. They carry me through.

Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

5 Responses to surgery tomorrow . . .

  1. […] to Mothers With Cancer. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)First Day Un-ReportSunday, August 3rdbig mac did […]

  2. bcjenster says:

    You will be in my thoughts and prayers tomorrow. It’s wonderful to have so much support – what a load off your mind so you can concentrate on what you need to.

  3. whymommy says:

    Sending you strength….

  4. Craig Colgan says:

    My mother is a 39 year (yeah, you read that right) breast cancer survivor. Plus, she has survived several other serious cancers, and cancer surgeries. Her faith, her family, and her determination are the keys. There you go. Live long, and prosper. And I do mean live LONG!

  5. Jen says:

    Judy! You’re lea’in me hang’in…..are you OK? How are you doing? We’re anxious to know how you’re feeling. When you feel up to it write a few words! I’ve been thinking about you this week. I’m feeling better but still have a ways to go.
    Jen

