Early menopause?

Can we talk about early menopause?

I don’t have much to say (yet) but I have no idea where to start looking for information.  After 6 months of chemo, 6 months of tamoxifen, and a scheduled oopherectomy, it’s not a possibility but a probability and I’d like to know what to expect.  I saw this great post by one of my peeps over at SV Moms Blog … but where are the good resources?

Where should those of us stepping over the threshhold of chemically-induced menopause begin?

5 Responses to Early menopause?

  1. bcjenster says:

    Have you checked out hystersisters?

    Personally, menopause following my oopherectomy hasn’t been nearly as bad as chemopause was. At least as far as the hot flashes and night sweats are concerned. Weight and a non-existent libido are other matters entirely.

  2. Sarah S. says:

    I’m getting lots of hot flashes. That’s about it for me so far. They are irritating.

  3. onetuffgrrl says:

    I can help you–they put me in medical menopause at 35 years old with the help of Zoladex. I have also had an oopherectomy. Email me privately and I can share my experience…

  4. imstell says:

    The only bits of advice I have are this:

    +Effexor for hot flashes/night sweats & mood swings. I still have some flashes but not nearly as many and the night sweats are all gone.

    +My OB/GYN says if a substitute (like wild yam cream, etc) is estrogen-like enough to fool your body into thinking it’s not in menopause, then it’s also estrogen-like enough to activate/stimulate cancer cells.

    +When it comes to lubrication for, cough, dryness issues associated with menopause, all products are NOT created equal. Try Replens. It rocks!

  5. Sharon says:

    Thanks for the link. I have started writing about menopause because I want to talk about it and have had a hard time finding places to do that. For a lubricant, my doctor recommended AstroGlide, and it works well for me.

    This is an amazing site. My hat is off to all of you.

