Why I blog here

Because all too often my conversations with friends include such “oops” moments as the following exchange:

Friend: Are you coming to playdate on Monday?

Me: No, I’ve got a preop appointment that day.

Oops.

Dude.  That is such a conversation ender.  We laughed it off, but cancer is still is something I would rather not discuss during playdates.   I’d much rather enjoy the time with friends and children, enjoying life.  But sometimes, I need to talk about it with people who know.  Who understand.  Who have moments like this of their own.

I’m so grateful for this blog.

4 Responses to Why I blog here

  1. bcjenster says:

    I’m grateful for this blog, too. Being 3 years out, I don’t like to talk so much about cancer stuff on my personal blog. The problem is, there are still things I need to talk about.

  2. justenjoyhim says:

    Oh, how I understand. I do SO understand. I’ve had so many conversation stoppers it’s not even funny. It helps so much to be able to talk with others who understand.

  3. tori says:

    I totally understand this! My friends are great, but who in the world knows what to say when I blurt out something like that?

  4. Hi Moms,

    I am the Senior Editor for CancerDirectory.com at http://www.cancerdirectory.com. I came across your blog at https://motherswithcancer.wordpress.com and am very impressed with your site and inspired by your writing and lives. I wish you the best of luck!

    We have chosen your blog to be featured on CancerDirectory and it will be on the homepage for about a week or two, and be available indefinitely in our Cancer Blog section. Our listing includes a link and photograph that we found on your website. I wanted to touch bases to make sure that this was okay with you. If you have any problem with this at all please let me know and I will remove or edit the listing.

    As you can see we are recommending your blog to our readers. We are considering featuring full blog articles in the near future. Let me know if we can post some articles from your blog from time to time. Of course, we will post a link back to your full blog if we do post content in the future. Whatever you decide, I want you to know that we are thinking of you and wish you all the best!

    Best,
    Lauri

    Lauri Panopoulos
    Senior Editor
    Cancer Directory
    lpanopoulos@mac.com
    http://www.cancerdirectory.com
    646-831-5340

