Port Removal

 

I am experiencing a bit of anxiety about my port removal. I talked to the surgeon this morning and he usually takes them out with a local anesthetic. Um How is that possible? I mean it is in there under my skin and he wants to just cut it out of me and pull it???????? Yikes!!!! After I talked to him I got a bit dizzy and  needed to sit down. I am thinking that I am going to be a mess that day! It is funny how your mind works huh? Ok I am strong and I can do this right?

Any body else get their port out this way? Plese tell me it is no big deal. I was counting on going to sleep and waking up after it was out already!

Cross posted on Sprucehill.

10 Responses to Port Removal

  1. imstell says:

    It’s really not bad at all. My mom had hers taken out with a local. I WANTED mine done that way but they made me have a twilight drug instead.

    Think of it as removing a large splinter. When they put it in they have to make room within the tissue for a foreign object. But taking it out is just a matter of opening the original incision and giving a tug.

    I’m sure they would give you something to relax you if you asked them to.

  2. iris says:

    Best of luck on this. I know it sounds scary, and I would be scared if my doctor was to do the same for me. But think of it this way…nothing is as scary as fighting for your life, and you are at the end of treatment joruney!

  3. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    And you don’t get to watch. There’s a drape there. It’s really easy. Don’t worry. Hugs.

  4. lwayswright says:

    Good luck. I will be thinking about you!

  5. katbur says:

    Believe it or not it’s easier than you think. I was anxious about having it out at all so the actual removal wasn’t bad, I seem to think there was a numbing agent on the skin but imstell is right, reach in and pull.
    Good luck!

  6. Jenster says:

    It sounds MUCH worse than it really is. I was pretty freaked out about it, too. But there’s no pain and you just lay there and chat with the doctor and nurses, ignoring the tugging which, again, doesn’t hurt, and then all of a sudden he says, “Okay. You’re done!”

    While I love general anesthesia any time I can get it, it was pretty nice to be able to just walk out of the recovery room and have a run by Starbuck’s on the way home.

  7. sprucehillfarm says:

    Thanks everyone! I feel a lot better hearing your comments. What would I do without you guys? 🙂

  8. Laura says:

    I’m on my 4th port (for various and sundry reasons I will spare you right now), and getting them out really is so much easier than getting them in. A little local, a little tugging and it’s over. Really. You should do just fine!

  9. Susan says:

    I must be the biggest baby ever. I had my port out yesterday and it was awful. I think I must be the only person to think this, but to me it was MUCH worse than putting it in. For insertion, I slept through the whole thing. Removal was local so I was awake. I thought the anesthesia numbing was pretty painful. I was a nervous wreck. They had to keep reminding me to breath. I am glad it is over. It was not as easy as I expected.

  10. Sally says:

    I am having a port put in tomorrow morning–is it painful? Surgeon said he would like me atleast a little alert–yeah right. I am so afraid of needles and IV’s guess I better get used to it since I am newly diagnosed with Stage IV breast cancer that has spread to the bones.

