Victory Sign

I hate mass emails.  I get forwarded so many emails.  If you’re known for forwarding mass emails, I’m sorry to say I don’t read them.  I know who you are and I still love you, but I will read the title and I can already tell I won’t read it if it’s of the mass variety.

So my MIL only saves the very best ones for me to read.  But even then she has to call me if she really thinks I should read it…..or anymore watch it.  So today she called me and I reluctantly went to my email.  I was surprised.  I liked it.

It reminded me that God can use the worst of situations.  I wouldn’t have wanted to hear that when I was diagnosed even thought I knew it was true. 

Breast cancer has stolen so many things from me.  So many things that define my womanhood.  My hair (temporary), my breasts (temporary).  I can’t even make a victory sign with my arms anymore (like Sheryl Crow here).  My muscles don’t let me stretch my arms that far. (this I hear is temporary too)

But I am reminded that what makes me a woman is not my hair or my breasts.  My womanhood is found more in my nurturing of my children, my compassion for others, and my character.  And even though I have beaten cancer and want to hold up my arms like Lance Armstrong after winning the Tour de France, I hold tight to victory in my heart through what Christ did for me on the cross. 

Romans 5:8 from the message says this:  “Christ arrives right on time to make this happen. He didn’t, and doesn’t, wait for us to get ready. He presented himself for this sacrificial death when we were far too weak and rebellious to do anything to get ourselves ready. And even if we hadn’t been so weak, we wouldn’t have known what to do anyway. We can understand someone dying for a person worth dying for, and we can understand how someone good and noble could inspire us to selfless sacrifice. But God put his love on the line for us by offering his Son in sacrificial death while we were of no use whatever to him.”

We are never perfect and Christ died for us while we were yet sinners.  We are always in process.  We are always on the journey.  If we had to be perfect we would never make it.   The victory in all of this is that I am so loved.  Jesus stretched out His arms for me on the cross and He stretches out His arms for me now with all my cruddy baggage. 

He’s holding up my victory sign even though I can’t.

My body will never be perfect, my heart will never be perfect, my choices will never be perfect, but I am trying to be more like him through His grace and I know it is by His stripes that He offers me complete healing and perfection.

The video says it way better than me in less words.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvDDc5RB6FQ

3 Responses to Victory Sign

  1. bcjenster says:

    I’m with you on the mass emails. Especially if they say, “You don’t love Jesus if you don’t…” HA! I take a perverse pleasure in hitting delete. LOL

    I loved that video. Thank you so much for sharing it, even if it did make me cry! :o)

  2. justenjoyhim says:

    What a beautiful post.

  3. The video was very moving.

    I am fascinated by faith. And by people’s journeys to (and from) their religious committments.

    Since being diagnosed with mets, I lean on God much more. I cling to the faith that He has his reasons for giving me what he has given me.

    In a few weeks, I am going to talk to a group, for the first time, about living with cancer and faith.

