what i wish i had done

We had just begun to see our financial advisor when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. In fact, she had advised us to get life insurance and set up the medical exams we needed to move the process forward. I was feeling pretty smug about my exam results, since I had just lost a bunch of weight, and was running regularly.

Then, one evening as I undressed, I felt a large hard lump on the side of my right breast.

I saw my doctor the next day.

The day after that my insurance medical forms landed on her desk. She told the insurance company about the lump.

I was turned down for life insurance.

A few weeks after that, my spouse and I discovered that while he had signed the forms to provide us with mortgage insurance, I had not. When I die, there will be no mortgage relief for my spouse.

None of us likes to think about getting sick or dying. And no parent wants to think about dying while their children are still young. But planning for this eventuality can protect those we love from a lot of stress and hardship.

You can read the rest of this post at MyBreastCancerNetwork.com

I also bog at Not Just About Cancer.

4 Responses to what i wish i had done

  1. […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  2. I am also sorry that I never took out life insurance.

    I am an at home mom, and I did not see myself as a financial “asset.”

    Now, I am much more aware of how much I contribute financially, and what it will “cost” my family if I am not here.

    I guess I better stick with my priginal plan of being around (at least for the next decade or so….)

    😉

  3. ..] Thank you for reading this post. You can now Leave A Comment (0) or Leave A ..]

  4. […] what i wish i had done By Laurie In fact, she had advised us to get life insurance and set up the medical exams we needed to move the process forward. I was feeling pretty smug about my exam results, since I had just lost a bunch of weight, and was running regularly. … Mothers With Cancer – https://motherswithcancer.wordpress.com […]

