what to do? your input needed.

Today finds me faced with a dilemma.

I just found out today that I have been awarded a scholarship to attend this conference in Philadelphia. It is being organized by Living Beyond Breast Cancer (don’t know a whole lot about them but I do love that name). My air fare and half of my hotel will be covered.

The content looks interesting.

And I would love the chance to meet some other interesting women living with cancer.

It will be almost exactly a year since I attended this conference, which rejuvenated and inspired me.

However, the Philadelphia conference is on Saturday, November 1st. It starts at 9:00am.

This means I would miss Hallowe’en in Ottawa.

I love helping my kids get ready and sending them off to trick or treat. I love giving out candy (I love eating it, too, which is not as good for me).

I need your help. What should I do?

Oh, and if I go to the conference, I get to stay here for two nights.

Cross-posted to Not Just About Cancer.

4 Responses to what to do? your input needed.

  1. imstell says:

    I don’t suppose the kids could come with you? How long is the flight? Could you leave after the festivities???

  2. Sarah S. says:

    I would ask them and see what they think. You might be surprised at their answers šŸ™‚

  3. Christina says:

    Have you read The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch? He had a similar decision to make. It’s a short book and I highly recommend it. Also see http://www.thelastlecture.com

  4. So glad that I don’t have to make this decision.

    On the one hand, one wonders how much the kids remember any particular event.

    On the other hand, we remember those events (and often have the picture to remind us)

    Then again, it is such a great opportunity to go away…

