the thing is, I’m not standing alone

Yes, I’m Standing Up To Cancer, but there are and have been so many people standing up with me. So very many people that I couldn’t begin to name them all here.

All of my friends via my blog, Just Enjoy Him — even the ones who are lurking and pulling for me, praying for me — you are all Standing with me. My family and real life friends who have helped me in numerous ways, from prayers and good thoughts to kind words to phone calls to emails to visits (some coming in from out-of-town!) to meals cooked to looking after Nate to helping clean our house to staying with us overnight after I first got home from the hospital to sending cards to sending flowers to staying with us weekends to doing so very many things that I can’t even remember them all. My bloggy friends who have sent gifts, sent emails, written posts, put widgets on their blogs, and also done so many things that I can’t even begin to mention all of them.

This morning I read Margie’s beautiful post, I’m Standing Up To Cancer and learned that I have a star in the SU2C Constellation. I didn’t know that before. Wow, I have a star! So I went to the constellation, typed in Judy Kooistra, found my star, and started bawling. I don’t even know who launched my star, because it says “Anonymous” launched it. So, if “Anonymous” is reading this, Thank you very much. I am incredibly touched and honored. And thank you to everyone who has contributed and left notes for the star.

So yes, I am Standing Up To Cancer. Before this morning, I thought I would have some kind of inspirational or at least longer post, because after all, today is THE day to Stand Up To Cancer, the day that the show is being broadcast at 8:00 p.m. on ABC, NBC, and CBS.

Instead, I just find myself a little weepy today and not very able to put together many inspirational, coherent thoughts. I think of people who have been lost to cancer. I think of my fellow cancer warriors. I think of wanting to get healthy for my boy, my husband, my family, my friends, all the people who love me and who I love. I think of life and love.

I think of love.

Love.

I think that cancer may kill humans

but it doesn’t kill love.

I love my star.

I will cherish it forever.

I’m Standing Up To Cancer

but I’m not standing alone.

Thank you,

all of you

who are

Standing Up To Cancer

With Me.

I love you.

Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

3 Responses to the thing is, I’m not standing alone

  1. bcjenster says:

    You’re right! You’re not alone. I’ve never been alone in this fight, either. I have a feeling I’ll be very weepy watching tonight.

  2. Sarah S. says:

    You are not standing alone. I sat there watching last night and was on the verge of tears the whole time. I felt energized and felt as though I was not alone. It was a great feeling! 🙂

