8 down, 4,252,876 to go.

Ok.  Not really.  People keep asking me how many radiation treatments I have left and I never know the answer.  It’s not that I don’t care, I’ve just never been a counter.  When I was teaching, people would ask, “When do you have to go back to school?” 

“Um.  When they call me?” 

or “How many days left until summer break?”  And yes.  I rarely knew the answer to that one either.  (Shocking!)

So, if I sat and thought about it a bit, I could come up with the answer 27.  (Wouldn’t it be cool if it were 42?  Then it could be the ultimate question!)

So here I am.  27 treatments from the end of radiation.  It’s not really as eventful to write about as chemo was.  No dramatic barfing.  No holing up in the bedroom for 4 days watching reality TV (Actually kind of miss that.)  Just 30 minutes, tops (depends if the nurses get me talking about my theories about public education, or more specifically how I believe that music education should be fun, informative and meaningful for all children, not just the ones that have a natural aptitude… wait.  Where was I?)  30 minutes.  This includes the breezy hospital gown, adjustments on the not so comfy board and arm brace, and the quick rays of death that are decreasing my chances of recurrence. 

The biggest difference between radiation and chemo for me is that I do more serious thinking in that 30 minutes than I ever did hooked up to ol’ Jethro the IV pole.  There is almost a social aspect to chemo, where in radiation treatments it’s just you and the big machine and just enough time to ponder Life, the Universe, and Everything.  Did we get it all in the surgery?  Am I holding still enough?  Did the chemo finish it off?  Will the radiation keep it from coming back?  Am I BRCA positive?  Will my daughter have to do this too?  Uck.  Don’t like that one. 

The truth is, I could drive myself crazy with those.  So I plod on, trying to incorporate wellness into my life.  Do the things I know will make me healthy.  Moisturize with aloe 4 times a day.  Ok.  Twice a day for sure.  Eat healthy foods.  (and ice cream.  There must always be ice cream.)  Increase my activity level (Only driving my daughter halfway to school.  Heh.) 

27 more to go.

(This will probably be the last time I know that number.)

Crossposted to ThrowsLikeAGirl

5 Responses to 8 down, 4,252,876 to go.

  1. imstell says:

    My goodness but you accomplish alot in the 30 minutes on that table! I always just napped. Of course, I had a 1 year old at home at the time. I neeeeeeded the rest. Yeah, that’s it. 😉

  2. Sarah S. says:

    I am glad everything is going well with your radiation. Just go with it, no need to count. Sometimes it is hard to think in terms of numbers.
    ((HUGS))

  3. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Well I have to admit today during rads I wondered where all my credentials for teaching are for when I put a resume together. Granted, this probably won’t happen until J is in Kindergarten or 1st grade so I’ve got a bit of time. So no great big wonders today.

  4. Hi,

    Not counting clearly works well for you. Must be great fun when the tech says, “Good luck!” and you respond, “Whadyamean?” And then she (or he) says, “You are all done!”

    It’s like a snow day from school. Only much much better.

    With hope, Wendy

  5. Of course you won’t know that number tomorrow, ’cause the numbers keep changing!!

    I couldn’t keep track of numbers, days, times, etc, even before the chemo!!

    :-}

    But I do drive everyone crazy on car rides, singing “100 bottles of beer on the wall” –‘course, we made it a bit more interesting (and educational), since you never knew how many bottles of beer would fall at any given time, and the kids had to figure out how many bottles of beer were left, before we could continue singing….

