No More Hats!

Yup! No more hats for me! I finally have enough hair to go without a head covering. It has been eight weeks since my last treatment. The bad news is that  know I have to shave 😦 Oh well, I can deal with that.

When I lost my hair or I guess I should say when I shaved my head. It was not as hard as I thought it would be. Instead of just letting it fall out I took charge and shaved it myself. It was a lot easier that way. I felt like I took control of it when I did it myself. I got my wig and was prepared to wear it. I did not know when I bought it how I would feel after I lost my hair. I hated my wig. I only wore it once. Now my wig was a nice wig don’t get me wrong. It looked great on me, but I felt false wearing it. My feeling on this was that I have cancer and my hair fell out and I have a right to be bald. I earned it, and I am going to show people that it is ok to be bald. It is not scary, It is a bit chilly, but it was not scary. Sure I had people stare at me and look at me with pity in their eyes. I also had people, complete strangers walk up to me and hug me and tell me their stories of survival. There are so many survivors out there and they told me to hang in there and that they were praying for me. If I had a wig on they would not have done this. I would have never had that experience. It made me feel like I was not alone. That if all these woman could do this so could I.

So I am happy that my hair is growing back and that I am moving forward. But I will miss meeting new survivors in Target. My hair will finally look normal and just look like a cute short hair cut. There is a positive part of your hair falling out. If you can just take it and turn it around and make lemonade out of lemons!

11 Responses to No More Hats!

  1. Laurie says:

    You look beautiful!

  2. sprucehillfarm says:

    Thanks Laurie! 🙂

  3. justenjoyhim says:

    Ditto to what Laurie said. You look absolutely beautiful. Radiant!!

  4. imstell says:

    You look radiant! I did the same and felt very empowered.

    Of course, in a few weeks you will enter what I like to call the “bull dyke” stage. LOL. That point where you cease to look like you used to be bald and begin to look like it’s a lifestyle statement. My son would tell people I was in the army (I really just work for the National Guard). They would give me a derisive top to bottom once over and say, “Yes, I can tell by the haircut.”

    It was a very good lesson for me on jumping to conclusions. 😉

  5. bcjenster says:

    You do look beautiful!! And now it’s your turn. When you see the bald woman you can make the first move. :o)

  6. sprucehillfarm says:

    That is the plan!

  7. jillaldrich says:

    Rock that beautiful, bald head! You look simply lovely.

  8. You look great!!

    A few months ago, I walked into the hospital next to a woman with a very short, chic hairdo. She looked fabulous.

    Since I am in the whole cancer world, I wondered if her short hair was an “after chemo” effect, or or simply a very chic haircut.

    When I ran into her in the chemo ward, I had to tell her how amazing she looked.

    Some women just wear it so well!!

  9. whymommy says:

    You look GORGEOUS. And the smile? Just adds to it.

    I’m so proud of you for fighting so hard this year!

  10. Stephanie says:

    Great post! Thanks for sharing your reasons for not wearing a wig. I just wrote a post on hats myself.

  11. Stephanie says:

    Sorry, I posted with my book blog address above. My cancer blog is http://www.4cookie.wordpress.com

