What she tells people at school

Sometimes it is hard to tell with your children if they really grasp the whole cancer thing. I was approached by two Moms last week who volunteer in Little E’s first grade class room. They told me that while they were  working with her in the classroom  she looked up at them and said “Do you know that my Mom is a breast cancer survivor? Isn’t that great?” Both the Moms were so floored by this. They told me with tears in their eyes. They could not believe a six year old would say this. Just like they would say I love chocolate milk. I was so proud of her. It seems she is proud of me too!

Around here I speak frankly with the girls about my cancer. I want them to understand it and not be to afraid of it. I want them to be able to live their lives not always being afraid. I want them to see me being brave and strong. So maybe just maybe they will not be scared. They will go get their mammograms and do their self exams, and not be afraid to do it. I have not been tested yet to see if my cancer is genetic. I will soon, I have three daughters and four nieces that need to know if it is.

I am very proud of my girls. We have had a tough eight months. But I think so far we are doing just fine. We do have our moments, but all in all I feel like we are doing ok with my breast cancer. As best as we can. I do get the “Are you going to die?” question still. But less often than I did before. I always tell them that everyone dies, we just need to make the best of the life we have.

4 Responses to What she tells people at school

  1. Pam says:

    Way to go Little “E”.

  2. imstell says:

    That’s awesome!

  3. Dr. See Abstracts

    INCREASED TUMOR NECROSIS FACTOR ALPHA AND NK CELL FUNCTION USING AN INTEGRATIVE APPROACH IN LATE STAGE CANCERS

    PATIENT DEMOGRAPHICS
    Twenty patients – Average age: 49.3 – All stage 4 cancers – 12 males, 8 females – Prognosis from physician: 3.7 months to live

    PATIENT REGIME INCLUDED
    Transfer Factor Plus, Beta Glucans, soy extract, digestive enzymes, vegetarian, low-sugar diet, hyperthermia and more.

    RESULTS AFTER SIX MONTHS
    Average Tumor Necrosis Factor alpha (TNF) increased from 12.4 to 1287.5 Average increase in NK cell function: 6.4 to 27.6

    Buy Online Transfer Factor : http://6533667.my4life.com

  4. Love it!!

    I think that’s the best we can do. Talk about cancer, just like we talk about everything else. Make is something normal, not something to be feared.

