Things I like

I have been walking around in awe for the last few weeks. Everything I see is pink! I do wish that it was not just October when people are more aware but I guess it is better than nothing.

Here are some things that I think are great! Hats with hair is a site that I found through a cancer blog I have found recently called My Breast Cancer Blog. They have several styles and they look way more comfortable than a regular wig. Those of you having no hair days should check it out!

Another cool thing I found the other day was this necklace. Lisa makes her own beautiful jewelry and has this as her feature this month. I think it is just so beautiful. It would be a wonderful gift for a birthday or Christmas or just to show your support to a friend who is struggling with breast cancer. She also has lots of other designs that are not just about breast cancer. Designs with Hope and inspire on them. She also does beautiful necklaces you can put your childs name on! So check them out! Good gift ideas!

I also love this. I bought it for myself on Thursday. It is a beautiful bracelet made by Brighton. Now I was a bit hesitant to get this but the day I got it the store actually was donating 20% of the sales from that day to the Chesapeake Cancer Alliance, which is local here where I live. I thought it would be a good gift too for someone who has supported me through this last few months. So I got two!

  These two products I found at Peir1. I thought they would also make good Christmas gifts, or even birthday or just a thank you gift. I thought if I was giving someone a candle hey why not do it to benefit a good cause? Susan G komen.

Ok that is the end of my shopping extravaganza post!

Cross Posted on Spruce Hill

3 Responses to Things I like

  1. imstell says:

    The Hats with Hair site is cool. I added it to the shopping tab.

  2. sprucehillfarm says:

    Oh Good! Thanks Stella!

  3. Sinha Institute of Medical Sc & tech says:

    Attention: All person concerned about breast cancer.

    We have recently reported in “Acta Oncologica. 2006;45(2):184-7” that small doses of aspirin could be very beneficial for the prevention and cure of breast cancer. How this aspirin actually work as an antibreast cancer agent which is generally believed incurable? It is generally accepted that aspirin one of the so called “nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs” works through the inhibition of prostaglandin synthesis, this is an old belief and not always true. We have found that aspirin does not work through the inhibition of prostaglandin synthesis against breast cancer. This drug works in the case of breast cancer through the synthesis of nitric oxide (NO). Nitric oxide thus formed was found to stimulate the synthesis of maspin (mammary serin proteinase inhibitor). Maspin is an antibreast cancer protein produced abundantly in normal breast tissue but not in breast cancer tissue. Indeed greater the malignancy of breast cancer, greater the inhibition of maspin synthesis, we have found that ingestion of small quantity of aspirin was able to stimulate the inhibited maspin synthesis in breast cancer, in other words aspirin can replenish the maspin level in breast cancer to normal ranges.
    What ever medication a cancer patient has been taking, subject may think taking small quantity of aspirin as it is available in all local drug stores and you can buy aspirin from the drug store of your choice. Regarding the quantity of aspirin you can take only 75 mg/day with your meal or after meal. If you are aspirin sensitive or you are suffering from severe cold, you may try 15 mg aspirin only. Since aspirin is destroyed quickly when exposed, do not use any aspirin preparation that as been keep exposed to air for some time. If you are interested to know more on the effect of aspirin on breast cancer, you may contact us.
    Also you should note, since aspirin is an over the counter drug, and extensive studies have demonstrated to be a harmless medicine provided you ingest it judicially, if subject is allergic to aspirin or hypertensive to aspirin he/she should not take it.

    Sinha Institute of Medical Science & technology,
    288, Kendua main road, Baishnabhgata,
    Kolkata 700 084, INDIA
    Tel: +91-99037 92100 Email:

