The Race Was Awesome!

It was such a good day today. Very emotional, I started to cry before I even got to the event. We got there a little late. All the survivor events started at 6:30. We live about 45 minuets away, we were all moving slow this morning but I did get a chance to be in the survivor picture.

It felt like such a privilege to be there. When I was walking I thought of all of the women that could not walk today. The woman who were too weak to do so, and the ones who are no longer with us on this earth. I am feeling well and am able to be out there and do things. At the survivor tent when they gave me my hat and ribbon they asked me how long I have been a survivor. I said “Nine months!” The woman in front of me got 12 ribbons for her hat! How awesome!

I walked the whole 5K! I am tired and my legs are a bit sore but I made it! Hopefully I will be able to run next year!

One of my friends took this picture of me crossing the finish line as they called out my name! Thanks to all who have supported me these nine months!

4 Responses to The Race Was Awesome!

  1. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Hooray Sarah! Thanks for posting about this. 🙂

  2. This is so great!!! Congratulations!!! I wish you many more races and years of survivorship!!!!

  3. sprucehillfarm says:

    All I could think of was how I want to be able to run it next year 🙂

