No. More. Radiation!!

Yes, stick a fork in me, I’m done!!

Overdone. Crisp. Burnt. Peeled and oozing, in fact. Sorry, maybe TMI, but that’s how it is with me these days. And it hurts like hell.

So today was the day that I got my last boost (just radiating my mastectomy scar) and the next three days would be back to general radiation. Today is also the day that I saw Dr. Radiation Oncologist (RO), and when I saw her and showed her my skin and told her how ouchy it is all the time, she said, “How about if we stop now? What would you say if this was your last treatment?”

Huh? Wha?! I only wanted to know if that was OK to do that.

She explained why it was OK, that if my skin has reacted that strongly, then it has gotten plenty of radiation and that since I had clear margins from the surgery, three more radiation treatments won’t do much more than what I’ve already gotten. She smiled at me. She’s such a good doctor. I don’t think she would suggest doing that if it put me at risk, but she combines good doctoring with compassion in a way that wonderful doctors do.

I agreed. Then she hugged me and told me that I had done a good job.

Oh, I ❤ Dr. RO. She’s really my concept of what an ideal Dr. is — incredible competence mixed with a great deal of compassion and bedside manner.

So I’m done. No more count-down. No more “x more days.” No more. I’m done, done, done. I see her next week so she can check on my skin, and I’ll see her about 6 weeks after that again. I got a certificate, almost like I’d graduated from radiation treatment. The main radiation technician who’s done most of my treatments and who I get along with really well gave me a big hug.

I’ll miss them in a way; they’re great people. But I won’t miss radiation. It’s time.

I. AM. DONE!!! YAY!!!!

Now it’s just maintenance chemotherapy once/week and I’ll get on the Tamoxifen to suppress my estrogen. I’ll be on Tamoxifen for 5 years. Oh, and continued prayer and much hope. Always prayer and hope.

I have graduated from another cancer treatment. Let me not have to go back to it again.

Amen.
__________________________________________________

Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

5 Responses to No. More. Radiation!!

  1. […] to Mothers With Cancer. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)burn, baby, burnTattoo […]

  2. bcjenster says:

    YAY!!! It’s almost like an early Christmas gift!!!

    Congratulations!!

  3. Sarah S. says:

    YaaaaaaaaaaaaY! 🙂

  4. imstell says:

    Amen. One more bit of cancer paraphenalia that’s used up it’s usefulness and needs to be packed away. Time to move on to the living of your life. Yeah!!

  5. yay! we are celebrating with you!

    stick a fork in me??? ROTFL!!!

