new growth, new pills, new beginnings

The results are in and the news is mixed. I have new cancer growth on my left hip, I am please to know it is not much and it is not giving me any pain. My doctor has started me on a pill form of 5FU called xeloda which is capeitbine from Roche. This pill form gives me freedom from attending weekly visits to the hospital only once every four weeks for my bone strengthener, APD.  You would think I was happy not to go to the hospital every week, but I had a bit of remorse, I was doing thisweekly routine for more than 4 years. Just had my anniversary. I was admitted 4 years ago into the hospital with 5 month pregnancy and the dreaded return of cancer. I always think 5 years is  a significant anniversary and I am going to try my best to remain hopeful that I will make it to next year. So I raise my glass of sparkling mineral water to New Beginnings!

3 Responses to new growth, new pills, new beginnings

  1. Sarah S. says:

    Cheers! Sorry to hear about you scan. You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    To New beginnings!

  2. So sorry about the new growth.

    Xeloda is GOOD!! I would love to take it, but my health fund won’t cover it until I have taken Taxol.

    I do know what you mean about the remorse. I have grown accustomed to my weekly hospitla visits. (Not to mention that it is hard for me to remember to take pills!)

  3. imstell says:

    I understand completely. On all fronts. As intrusive as weekly appointments are they still offer much in the way of camaraderie and reassurance from the medical personnel. Plus, change is not always a good thing in our lives, eh?

    On the other hand, Xeloda was a pretty good med. My hair grew back while I was taking it (hurray!), and I don’t think I felt to terribly horrible. I do seem to remember random large muscle heaviness & weakness. Otherwise, it wasn’t too bad.

    Good luck with it all.

