“You didn’t suffer in vain”

Some people have asked me how I’m going to celebrate my great news of NO. MORE. CANCER., and honestly?, I haven’t even thought about it. At work, they joked about popping open a bottle of champagne, but I haven’t drunk alcohol since I found out that I had tumors in my liver — that was by choice, not because anyone told me that I had to quit drinking. Now? It’s not that important to me to drink, so my thought is, why start again now since it’s healthier for me to not drink?

How am I going to celebrate? Well, Frank, Nate, and I are going to an indoor waterpark for a few days before Christmas, but those plans were made before we found out this incredible news. But sure, that will be a celebration.

To be honest, at least at first, I think every single day will be a celebration.

I’m living. I’m ALIVE. I’m . . . . healthy, as odd as that is for me to think of myself that way, I am healthy, or at least getting there. I just have to regain the strength that I lost during the long time that I was in treatment.

I want to do more things to make myself healthier too, now that I can focus better and won’t be as anxious about cancer-related things. At least, I think I won’t be as anxious.

How will I celebrate?

I will live. I will get up every morning and thank God for the life that I have, for the life that he’s given me, for the life that he’s allowed me to continue living. I will live. I hope to give back in some way; I don’t know quite how yet, but that will come. I will mother my son. I will be a wife to my husband. I will work.

I will be here for Christmas with my family.

I will LIVE.

That’s celebration enough for me.
___________________________

I didn’t suffer in vain. I suffered so I could live, and love, and give. And even grow.

Live life.

Life is beautiful. Life is good.

Praise God, life is good.

I didn’t suffer in vain.

“It’s Only Love That Gets You Through”
— yes, indeed. It’s love that gets you through.


___________________________

It’s Only Love That Gets You Through
~ Sade

Girl you are rich even with nothing
And you know tenderness comes from pain
It’s amazing how you love
And love is kind and love can give
And get no gain

[1] – It’s down a rugged road you’ve come
Though you had every reason
You didn’t come undone
Somehow you made it to the other side
You didn’t suffer in vain

You forgive those who have trespassed against you
And you know tenderness comes from pain
It’s amazing how you love
And love is kind and love can give
And love needs no gain

[Repeat 1]

You didn’t suffer in vain
You know it’s only love
That gets you through
Only love, it’s only love
It’s only love that gets you through

___________________________

God bless.

I didn’t suffer in vain.
___________________________

Cross-posted to Just Enjoy Him.

3 Responses to “You didn’t suffer in vain”

  1. […] to Mothers With Cancer. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)where I am today Posted by justenjoyhim Filed […]

  2. Stimey says:

    I remember back when you were first diagnosed. I’d followed a link from WhyMommy. I’m so happy to read this post. Congratulations!

  3. princesshedgie says:

    Thank you for being a light for me today. Celebrate as much as you want and keep sharing the joy. I think Sade is going to sell another album or two…

    ~ Hedgie

