A few things…..

 We have been very busy getting ready for the Christmas but I thought I would  catch you up on a few things. I am sitting here at my computer listening to the sleet fall upon the windows and I had an aha moment. You see I made my next appointment to finish my reconstruction the other day,  my tattoos. I am really excited about it and I am looking forward to this last step in my recovery. I did not realize that the date I chose is exactly one day before my one year diagnosis day January 17th. How fitting that it worked out that way, so January 16th is the day I get my tattoos. Finally, I will feel finished and I am hoping I like my “new look”. I asked if the plastic surgeon could do smiley faces but she said that she can’t, so I guess I will have to settle for plain old regular areolas. 🙂

Another exciting thing happened this week. I got my first hair cut since my hair feel out in April. It was wonderful! I really like my new do and colored it a bit red for a little change. For all the ladies reading who might be going through treatment, my last chemo was on July 15th. So that makes it 5 months for a nice thick head of hair. I no longer look like cancer girl and for me that is one of the best gifts I could receive this Christmas.

I hope you all have a happy healthy holiday this week. Which ever holiday you maybe celibrating.

6 Responses to A few things…..

  1. lisa says:

    Congratulations and thank for the encouraging news. I had my last treatment 11/21/08 and today 12/21/08 not a single hair has grown back. I am very glad to have all of that behind me but I really really want my hair back. Do you remember how long before you could see some growth?

    Happy holidays

    Lisa

  2. bcjenster says:

    I remember my first hair cut. It was AWESOME!! LOL I asked the “tattoo artist” at the PS’s office if she could do Celtic knots. I thought that would be cool. LOL Sadly she only knows how to do circle. :o)

  3. You guys gotta read the book “Why I Wore Lipstick to My Mastectomy” — then let me know what you think of HER tattoo!!

  4. sprucehillfarm says:

    Yes By September I had a JI Jane hair and was able to not feel so self consious. It comes in fast. One day you will not have any and the next day you will look in the mirror and boom fuzz! good luck. It woun’t be much time at all.

  5. sprucehillfarm says:

    My friend actually suggested Celtic knots too! THAT would be cool!

  6. imstell says:

    Congratulations! And Merry Christmas! Let me know how the tats turn out. I’m still debating the whole nipple issue.

