Living on borrowed time

But about to live on borrowed money, I’ve got the borrowed time thing down pat, now the money is another issue.

It all started when I filled out a non descript form saying I could have money to go to a conference that will take place in Texas. I would love to go not only for its my blog lifeline, young survivors like me. But also it would give me a chance to possible connect with at least one of my Moms with Cancer gals, if the moon align with the stars and the sun Simultaneously. But  the problem is that my cost to get there will outweigh the scholarship money they are generously offering me.

So what do I do? Go, and give my only emergency credit card a big kiss and deal with it later? Is this the new American way, or put everything on lay away and find the funds between now and Feb to make it all happen.  I am alway a pay as you go gal, but the monkey wrench is that I have to tell the scholarship folks by the 12 of January if I am in or out.

(Kenny Rogers song insert here- know when to hold them, know when to fold them, know when to walk away, know when to run)

I can’t be flippant about the money, I am sure it will go to some needy person closer. But I really want to attend and am sending out feelers now to see if any of you gals would like to share a room cost and live on texmex for a 3 day conference.

I have one splitting hair issue, I have never left my child alone, ever, not an overnight away, not a sleep over party, and at almost 4 am I sending her into an emotional scare zone just because I got a scholarship? Help me sort through this one, the clock is ticking.

One Response to Living on borrowed time

  1. Only you can answer the question about your 4 year old. Only you know how attached she is to you and what anxiety separation will cause her.

    Some things to consider:
    For how long will you be going away?
    Who will be watching your 4 year old while you are gone?
    At what age do you feel that a child is “ready” to be separated from their mother?
    Are only the child’s feelings relevant here?
    How much importance are you giving to your own feelings? And needs?

    It seems to me that if you decide to go, you have plenty of time to prep your child emotionally.

    Which leads back to the main question about whether you can afford to go or not.

    Perhaps you need to decide just how badly you want to go.

    Should you choose that you really want to go, then the issue becomes one of HOW to afford it and not IF you can afford it.

    Some of my off-the-top-of-my-head thoughts:

    Are you planning on driving or flying?
    What about purchasing last minute flights at highly discounted fees?
    What about participating in an auction for discounted flights
    What about sleeping in a youth hostel?
    What about couch surfing? If you don’t know what this is, check out these links:
    http://www.couchsurfing.com/
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CouchSurfing
    What about doing a fundraiser? (lots of ideas for those)
    Maybe you can find a sponsor?

    Perhaps the first thing you need to do is to determine the actual cost and then figure out how to cover it.

    Good luck!! I hope it works out for you!

