My last step

 Well I am back from my Tattoo adventure. I was numbed and felt none of it. I am a bit sore today and my doctor says I will be very bruised for a few days. ( I will be the perfect shade of purple for the Ravens game on Sunday!) I finally feel complete, and finished. Thank you all who left me messages and well wishes!

On Friday morning I will have the last step in my reconstruction. My tattoos. I am really excited about getting them, yet I am a little apprehensive too. I guess it is just the unknown. Not knowing what the final results will look like and if I will like them. They will be so ….permanent, for lack of a better word. I am looking forward to them covering up my scars a bit. Hopefully this will help out my body image a bit. I still do not feel really good about the way I look without my clothes on.( I never did before either though 🙂 )

So I was wondering if anyone else has had their tattoos done and how their experience was…….. How did you feel afterwards etc.

Wish me luck!

5 Responses to My last step

  1. imstell says:

    Oooh. I’m so anxious to see how they look. That is if you don’t mind sharing… in private email, of course. I’m still trying to decide if it’s worth the trouble. I’m actually growing rather fond of my “Barbie boobs”, as Daddy-O refers to them. 😉

  2. To me it was either do the nipple reconstruction and the tattoos together or not at all. I liked how my breasts were smooth before the nipple reconstruction, but my breast surgeon was the one who urged me to go through with everything else. I am happy that I did them. I felt like I had these 2 smile lines across my chest. You can still see some scars peeking out on either side of the tattoos but I am told they will take a few years to lighten up. The tattoos have faded a bit and I may even go back to have some more shading put in.

    The doctor shot me up with Lydacaine and then did the tattoos. I was sore for a few days, but not like the pain from any other procedure. To me it is still amazing that they can recreate us and other than the scars peeking out of the sides it looks so natural.

    I hope this helps!!

  3. Jennifer says:

    I just recently had a DM and I opted to do immediate reconstruction using the expanders. The Surgeon did an EXCELLENT job and I really don’t have a bad scar at all. I am with drains now , two on each, and will begin the expanding process each week with Saline. I also have been debating wether or not it is worth going thru the entire process of the Nipple, but according to the plastic surgeon they look GREAT after completing the tattoo process. I would definately love to know what you decide and how they look after. It is a very hard and personal decision. Ultimately, it all depends on your comfort level. Keep me posted and Good Luck!!!!

  4. bcjenster says:

    I’m really glad I did the nipple reconstruction and the tattoos. First of all, I was more than happy to make insurance pay as much as I could get them to. Second, I like the way my breasts look much more with them than without.

    I didn’t have any lidocaine or anything, but I have practically no sensation so it didn’t matter.

  5. sprucehillfarm says:

    Well I am off this morning! Thanks so much for all of your advice! I will let you know how it goes! 😉

