Putting Me Back Together

Well, I contacted Dr. Dumanian at Northwestern about the DIEP Flap reconstruction surgery and this was his reply:

“You may or may not be a candidate, depending on many different factors.”

Of course….I freaked with this response and emailed my oncologist who said he probably says that to everyone. Supposedly you need a lot of belly fat to do the DIEP flap. I have never looked at my baby belly as a blessing but it may be just that.

As far as I’m concerned, they can take the fat from my hips too. You’d think between my belly and my hips they could form a couple breasts! I don’t mind if they liposuction me as well. I’m no rail so you’d think something would work out. Who knew someday I would be glad to have fat to spare!%$&!%#!

I’ve contacted his assistant so I’ll keep you posted when I have my first official consultation. I’m very hopeful….they refer to this surgery as the “Cadillac” of reconstruction surgery…..and well….I like thinking I’m going for the best….lol! Although I think I’d rather have a BMW or Volvo reconstruction…..”sensible and expensive, rather than gaudy….lol!

I’ve also connected with a woman here in Kalamazoo who has had this surgery and we’re going to meet soon. I’m so happy to have someone who’s “been there, done that.” She is the one who recommended Dr. Dumanian

6 Responses to Putting Me Back Together

  1. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    i have the opposite problem . PS told me I had TOO much belly fat. 😦

  2. Hedgie says:

    I had the DIEP despite the Plastic Doc thinking I didn’t have enough tummy fat. Told him I didn’t want large breasts, tiny would do. He scavenged around and came up with enough fat for two lovely beauties! I’m waiting for nipple reconstruction due to family constraints (I think I’ll have ’em, though, since he promised no headlights) and then tattoos. Any questions, send ’em to me! I’m so glad I insisted on DIEP.

  3. I also had the DIEP reconstruction with a wonderful plastic surgeon in New Orleans!

    It was unclear from where he was going to take the fat tissue, from my abdomen or my tush, but in the end he was able to find enough tissue in my abdomen.

  4. DeAnna says:

    I had a great plastic surgeon in so cal. I had the reconstruction with a tram flap in May. I am soooo happy with my new boobies! I haven’t had the tattoos or nipple reconstruction. I had enough belly fat on my tummy and am enjoying my new body. Good Luck. deannarice dot com

  5. bcjenster says:

    I had bilateral DIEP also. It’s not just the amount of belly fat that determines whether you can have it. It also depends on how many abdomenal surgeries you’ve had because of adhesions, etc.

    While I was gearing up for my surgery I ate anything and everything I wanted just so I was sure the surgeon would have plenty to work with! I wanted him to earn his money. lol

  6. clergygirl says:

    thanks for all the affirmations! I didn’t realize so many of you have had the DIEP! This will be very helpful as I prepare. No abdominal surgeries or c-sections…..just three babies and a lovely gut no matter how much I try to suck in…..now….hmmm….I hope I don’t have too much….lol!

