sometimes about cancer

My personal blog, Not Just About Cancer, is having an existential crisis. I don’t seem to write that much about cancer these days. A more appropriate title might be in order (“Occasionally About Cancer?” “Not Just About Life, Kids, Dogs, Books, Weather Extremes and Cancer“?) but then how would people find me?

I was interrupted by the phone ringing. This is the subsequent telephone conversation, transcribed pretty much verbatim:

A (nurse who works with my oncologist, returning my call about my most recent CT scan results*): “May I speak to Laurie, please?”

Me: “This is Laurie.”

A: “Hi, it’s A. from the cancer centre.”

Me: “Hi A.”

A: “Everything’s fine. No change.”

Me: “Yay! Yay! Yay! Thank you, A!”

A: “You’re welcome! Bye!”

The cancer centre’s stated policy is that they do not give out results over the phone but my oncologist has been making an exception for me for a while now. If they ever do ask me to come in, I will be very suspicious.

So, I am happy to say that I have nothing new to report on the cancer front. I will continue on with treatment every four weeks, until it stops working. And with every clean scan, I know I’ve gained a little more time.

*I just tried to link to the post about my most recent scan (it was last Wednesday) and found that I didn’t write one. Instead, I wrote about the weather and losing my dog. It appears that, while they still make me anxious, CT scans are less newsworthy than the cold and my pets. Lucky me.

4 Responses to sometimes about cancer

  1. Angela says:

    This is great news Laurie, I am having my tests tomorrow I hope I can say the same.
    Big hug from Madrid (Spain)

  2. sprucehillfarm says:

    Great news Laurie. Hey it’s good to write about other things sometimes. 🙂

  3. I love the name of your blog!! To me, it says it all!!

    Even when cancer is a permanent part of your life, it doesn’t have to be the focus.

  4. Laurie says:

    Thanks to you all! And yes, RivkA, I agree with you COMPLETELY.

