Perspective

stella-and-mb

Sunday, I met my first “MotherswithCancer” contributor in person!! Stella was in So Cal for work and we met up for a few hours. We had a great time and tried to fit in as much as we could. Kids, cancer, careers, the “site”, spouses, family … it was the first time we met, yet because of the internet it was like we already knew parts of each others’ lives.

 

I got to thinking about the internet, blogging and online friends. I most likely would have never met Stella if it were not for the MotherswithCancer site. Which then leads me to, I probably would have never met her if I never had cancer.

 

Do I wish that I never had cancer… sure, but I cannot change that. If I can glean something good from that experience well then that is what I have to be thankful for.

 

My word for this month is perspective…

 

On this site, we all have a different perspective about cancer. I am sure we can agree that cancer has affected all of us… our spouses… our children… our family and our friends. If we can find some positive experiences from it, if we can use our pain to help someone else, if we can make some changes to our lives that make our remaining days here better, if we can meet some new friends online or maybe in person then I am looking at today as…

 Perspective

 my glass is half full …

 

 

 

cross posted at marybethvolpini

5 Responses to Perspective

  1. bcjenster says:

    Jeesh, you girls are pretty!! I’m so thrilled for you two and am looking forward to our first annual Mothers With Cancer Convention. lol

  2. Sarah S. says:

    Sounds like so much fun! I am looking forward to meeting some of the MWC sometime too! 🙂

  3. nice!

    I always say, we get all the bad stuff, whether we want it or not, we may as well appreciate the good stuff.

    I have met so many wonderful people, and formed serious friendship, with women who I never would have met had I not had cancer.

    Any of you want to come visit me in Israel, I would be so happy to put you up!!

  4. imstell says:

    Mary Beth,
    I couldn’t have said it better myself! It was such a pleasure to spend the afternoon chatting. Watch out you Bay Area gals… I’m setting my sights on meeting you next! 😉

  5. laurie says:

    What a great picture. And a great post. I agree with every word of this post, Mary Beth. It sums up my perspective completely. And my glass is half full, too.

    Now, on a shallower note – did you crochet the sweater you are wearing? Do you have a pattern for it? I must have it! 😉

