Cancer, we’re through.

Having cancer can be a bit like a bad relationship. You don’t want to talk about it, but it can rule your life and limit your options. Even when you’re out and about, it’s there with you, trying to drag you down. There’s a shame attached, which is a little ridiculous, because, get this, it’s not your fault. Here’s the thing, though. As I tweeted this morning:

I’m tired of covering up for cancer. From now on, if I can’t make a meeting because I have a scan, a test, or a follow-up, I’m saying why.

Will this make my colleagues uncomfortable? Perhaps. I’m sorry about that. I truly am. But making up excuses just makes me look like a flake. And if I don’t say anything, you’ll assume it’s cause I have to stay home and take care of my kids. I love my kids. I love to take care of them. But this? Is not their fault. It’s not anyone’s fault, really. Cancer just happens.

It happened to me.

It continues to happen to me.

Every time I think I’m over it, it comes back and beats me up a little more.

I don’t mean to be in your face about it. I don’t. In my mind, though, it’s a bit like pushing wigs on chemo patients. I am tired of covering up my fight in order to avoid making anyone else uncomfortable.

Cancer should make people uncomfortable. Cancer should make people mad. Cancer should make us take action.

Cross posted at Toddler Planet.

3 Responses to Cancer, we’re through.

  1. francesbarrie says:

    Right on!!!!

  2. yes!!

    (the other day, my son was interviewing for Jr high –a CRAZY aspect of Israeli society, don’t get me started! — Anyway, we spent so much energy trying not to mention my cancer, so they wouldn’t feel sorry for him or us, we all just came off horrible. It would have been so much better had we just let it out the first time something came up!)

  3. sprucehillfarm says:

    You are so right about that. Right now i am very angry. So many of our sisters are suffering and it tears me apart.

