I’m Curious…

I was scrolling down my Yahoo! page just a minute ago when I saw a headline about a British reality TV star “dying in the spotlight.”   Instantly I thought of cancer.  When I paused my cursor over the link my suspisions were confirmed.  The reality star is, indeed, dying of cancer. 

As it turns out, I was not entirely correct in my assumptions.  I read the article thinking I’d hear of a woman agreeing to allow the world a peek at her final days in order to provide for her children’s future.  Or something like that, any way.  Not at all.  Turned out to be an ex-reality star who has since become a celebrity.  She has now been diagnosed with cancer and is terminal.   It did get me thinking, however…

Many of the women that post here at MWC have metastatic disease and will live and die with cancer in due time.  The rest of us live in fear of that very thing.  We have all been voyeurs to the process of leaving this world with grace and dignity through our friend Punk Rock Mommy.  I watched as Andrea transitioned from this life to the next, as she made special time to spend with each of her many children – every day – so they would have many memories to carry with them when she was gone.   I teared up to read that she was making out greeting cards for all their special occasions for years to come so she could impart words of wisdom at the moment they would need them most.  In short, my life and view of death was forever altered for having traveled Punk Rock Mommy’s journey with her.

So my question to you is… if you were to find yourself terminal and the offer were presented, would you consider doing a reality show?  Allowing the world to view your journey to the end of your life?  Shedding light on cancer and it’s horror?  Bringing the reality home to people in their comfy livingrooms? 

I want to say I wouldn’t watch.  But I think I would.  Of course, I’d probably watch for reasons much different than the average American…

What say you?

6 Responses to I’m Curious…

  1. bcjenster says:

    If I had only a short time to live I wouldn’t waste it with a reality show. I hope I’d live it like Andrea did. With my family. Doing a reality show would seriously encroach on the important things. BUT (and there’s always a but, isn’t there?) I can see someone doing it for the money to make sure their family was taken care of.

    Interesting question, Stella.

  2. If I could get them to do it on my terms I would. I think most people out there have no idea what goes on when you have cancer. And there’s a lot of bad information out there too. It would be good to have people see things from a different perspective. After you have cancer, so many “things” that filled our days before cancer have no meaning in light of this serious illness.
    I remember seeing a movie in high school called “Mask” about a grossly deformed child and his life. It really changed the way I looked at people with disabilities.

  3. whymommy says:

    I’d say no, for my children’s privacy … but I’ve been blogging my journey, so I bet that makes no sense at all. Hmmm.

    One thing I wouldn’t do is trade a minute of my children’s happiness or comfort.

  4. Becky says:

    I don’t know if I would actually participate in a reality show, but I probably would watch, mostly because I might not be able to help myself. Knowing that it could be me, knowing that it might be me one day would make me want to watch, even though I know how hard it would be.

  5. sprucehillfarm says:

    No I would not want to do that. I would want to spend my time with my kids not in front of a camera. I do not think I would watch one either. I would feel to much like a voyeur.

  6. imstell says:

    I’m thinking that the brutal reality might actually be too much for TV. Plus I think it come off better on paper (or the computer monitor), if you know what I mean… I am not a fan of the whole reality genre as it is. But I just bet we’ll be seeing that type of show before too long. It’s just a matter of time. On the plus side, if it’s done correctly, it could really educate a lot of people and raise awareness.

