Heroes

heroes-2007-03-crop

After most of my intensive treatment was completed, I started to redesign my new life after cancer. I immersed myself into my art. One of my goals was to have a collage published in a magazine. The first submission theme that I read about was a call for work entitled “Heroes”.  I did not have any trouble interpreting what or who a hero was to me. This was my first “publishing” of my bald self. I had hair now and felt it was safe to let people see me without my hair.

 

My submission was not accepted to be published in the magazine.  When my copy of the issue arrived I was anxious to see what Heroes had been chosen over mine. There were the Heroes that come to everyone’s mind: firefighters, soldiers, Fathers, artists, movie stars, Women, Gandhi, but there were no cancer patients or survivors. It is hard to make a pretty picture out of cancer … cancer is not pretty.

 

I have to admit that before I became a cancer survivor, before the 8 rounds of chemo, the loss of hair, breasts, ovaries and dignity…..I am not sure if I would have portrayed the cancer survivor as my hero either. If I saw a person battling cancer I had sympathy for them, but now I have empathy. Empathy for my fellow warriors.

 

So my heroes are the ones who have come before… Andrea, Lisa, Amanda… we can learn so much from them and the countless others who have gone before. We learn to fight, cope, live and even when and how to surrender to this disease.

 

My heroes are those of us who are in this club, in various stages of this disease. My friend who has just entered Hospice… a friend of a friend  whose breast cancer has metastasized to her spine and brain.  All Mothers with Cancer who contribute to this site and those that are just visiting.

 

My heroes are those that will come after us, who can hopefully find comfort in some of the words and experiences that we write about here.

 

My Heroes…

 

My Fellow Warriors…

 

those that came before … those that will come after…

 cross posted at marybethvolpini

 

 

 

12 Responses to Heroes

  1. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    That was lovely, Mary Beth. 🙂

  2. sprucehillfarm says:

    What a wonderful post Mary Beth! Ditto! 🙂

  3. Lahdeedah says:

    This is simply beautiful.

  4. trustmeitsnothing says:

    Wow. So beautifully said.

  5. Thank you for all of your nice comments. I have wanted to post this for awhile, after hearing about Amanda I felt it was time.

  6. Beautiful words; beautiful collage. Thank you.

  7. Beautiful post!! Your collage is powerful and your words poignant and moving.

  8. I meant to write that your post was powerful and your collage was beautiful!! (it works both ways….)

  9. S.F. Heron says:

    Incredibly moving artwork. And beautiful words.

  10. My fellow on Orkut shared this link with me and I’m not dissapointed that I came here.

  11. Alli says:

    I looked at the blog Moms With Cancer…. and for a while it didn’t register.Wait!! I am a “mom” with cancer too..
    I am nearly 3 weeks since my R/M/Mastectomy…I’m just starting out on this new way of dealing with my upside down life at the moment…..

    The courage and strength women exhibit. We are simply AMAZING!!

    Alli….Xx

