“Hungerectomy”

On our way to Chicago on Wednesday I noticed a billboard ad along the toll way.  At first I thought I was misreading it.  Basically it was the logo for a snickers candy bar with the word “hungerectomy” inside, rather than the word snickers.  I can’t recall what it said above the logo, but the message was that if you ate a snickers bar you would lose your hunger.

I’ll be honest, as someone who has had a mastectomy, I don’t understand how you can relate a candy bar craving to anything related to a serious surgical procedure.  I’m not just offended, it actually makes me a bit angry.  I’m angry for anyone who’s had a hysterectomy, a lumpectomy, an appendectomy, an oophorectomy or any other ectomy surgery.

I have gone to sleep knowing that when I wake up I will not be the same person.  A piece of my womanhood would be gone.  I don’t see how anyone could think it would be funny to relate a surgery that would remove something that is dangerous or cancerous to hunger for junk food.  Obviously the person who designed this campaign has not experienced an “ectomy” surgery nor do they know anyone who has gone through this experience.

snickers_ads2

Maybe I need to light’en up.  But I just don’t get it.  Maybe that’s because I’m 4 days out from a reconstruction surgery, I’m in a lot of pain, and yes, I am still a tiny bit angry I’ve had to go through all of this.  It’s not a joke to me. 

What do you think?

9 Responses to “Hungerectomy”

  1. Holly says:

    i have had 3 ectomey surgies… (all before the age of 30!) and I do joke about the organs I have already lost, and what else I could get rid of.. But I joke with my friends so that I can have control of it.. so that i appear not as sad as I am about having different parts of me hacked out. People are always like.. but you are fine.. but my response is it is just not the same… I had organs remove that aided me in my day to day life.. so it is not the same.. the drugs work to replace what they took…., and I down play daily pain.. but it is just not the same.. so to have it used as a advertising punch line… that person does not understand that it is truly not that funny.. as it is just not the same.

  2. lorri s. says:

    I think you can be as pissed as you want. I’ve had a lot less patience for a lot of stupid people and things since I’ve had surgeries and treatment. If you want to be mad at a candybar, go for it. I understand how you feel. Love, Lorri S.

  3. Andrea says:

    I agree with you. I don’t think it was done in malice but it was certainly done in ignorance.

  4. Spruce Hill says:

    Yes I saw it the other day and I did not get it. It did kind of make me mad. I think it is way ok for it to make you mad, and I think that if you were not just coming out of your surgery you would not be as mad.But I think it is not a very good ad campain!

    Maybe you should e-mail them and see what happends?

  5. whymommy says:

    Ouch.

    I think they could have done much, much better.

  6. When I see bad ads I always think of the “pitch” meeting. How can people actually stand up and pitch this slogan and then worse yet – how did it get approved and out of the boardroom????? Sometimes I just don’t get it.

  7. 1. you feel how you feel, and that is just the way it is.

    2. the ad puts me off. it does not make me angry, but it does make me want to ask “what the…?”

    3. I suggest sending an email….

    4. When I first saw the picture, I couldn’t remember why it looked so familiar, and I would never have connected it to a Snickers bar.

    5. I still like Snickers

  8. Alli says:

    Maybe that is exactly the strategy they were after. The initial reaction you get pissed off, tell your friends, the friends tell others…. they did what they set out to do get noticed….more revenue in their pockets. I mean who doesn’t love Snickers?

  9. robby says:

    ive had an appendectomy, i feel the least bit offended and im actually highly amused by it. get your head out of your ass and take a little bit of needed humor in these tough times.

