Roll Call

Hey, everyone, let’s all check in and say hello, shall we?  Kind of like a de-lurking day for moms with cancer and those who love them, as well as any other readers who would like to say hi.  To participate, just leave a comment, let us know how you’re doing, and tell us if anything special is coming up or if you’ve gotten news recently.  Feel free to leave a linkback to your personal blog if you have one.  If it works, we’ll do this every month, on the first of the month.

Don’t worry, it won’t hurt a bit.

16 Responses to Roll Call

  1. whymommy says:

    I’m here. I’m doing well, seeing a new physical therapist for both the lymphedema and some back problems caused by … the scar tissue across my mastectomy scars. These side effects are amazing! I go back to the oncologist on Monday for my quarterly checkup.

  2. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Good idea Susan! 🙂 I’m here too. Well into Tamoxifenland and Lymphedemaland. (I think I have some sort of fascination with Disney World and all their -lands.) I haven’t posted about it yet, but I see the plastic surgeon in a couple weeks to talk about a prophylactic mastectomy and reconstruction options, if there are any. I’ll write about it soon, just looking for the words, you know?

  3. christine says:

    hi! i thought i’d leave a comment today since it is Paint the Town Purple day! i’m still fine after these 8 years free of malignant melanoma.

    much love,
    c–

  4. mommydoctor says:

    Hi,
    I’m here. Sorry I’ve been out of touch. I have had computer troubles (aargh) and just had a book released (yay!).

    I will get back in the swing again.
    With hope, Wendy

  5. mod*mom says:

    lymphaedema is a problem for me too + it collects on my torso as well as my arm + feels burning. i have severed nerves that make my side muscle contract. makes it hard to blog. i’m being harassed by my adorable daughter. we just got a flip video camera, so i’d better get off the computer.
    i just had lots of tests that came out no evidence of disease, yay! i do a wonderful dance class for cancer survivors twice a week.

  6. imstell says:

    I’m present and accounted for. Having a grand old time on the Central Coast. All my latest scans came back clear as a bell. Two and a half years post treatment and cancer free!

  7. Spruce Hill says:

    I am here and doing well. Just had another four month check up and was given the all clear. I am having a bit of pain in my chest and arm pit but the doc says it is normal nerves reconnecting. I am working through some anxiety issues and think I am finally through with my panic attacks. I have switched my meds around and am feeling much better. I am really enjoying all this warm weather spring has brought us and am glad that I can enjoy the sun this year (working on a tan already).

  8. I like this idea!

    I’m doing ok. I just started the Taxotere. I’m pretty tired. I am concerned by the pressure I felt in my chest during treatment, but it is gone now.

    I’m really hoping that the side effects of the Taxol (neuropathy and edema) dissipate. My feet still look like balloons and I can’t stand up or walk for too long. Overall, my pain is down. That’s good too.

    I’m really hoping the Taxotere works well.

  9. Jenster says:

    I’m here and I’m finally working on a post for today or tomorrow. Not much going on cancer-wise physically, which I have to say I really like. I did hit a bump emotionally, but got over that obstacle and am moving forward.

  10. clergygirl says:

    I just went through reconstruction and it went really well. I’m healing nicely. I’m interviewing for a job on Monday! I’m excited to start moving on with my life and hopefully put cancer behind me for good!

  11. trustmeitsnothing says:

    I’m living in a horrid town called Chemo-fog. My goal is to escape long enough that I can make my first post here. It’s slow going. Very slow going. I still have 3 more treatments to go and the entire town’s population (1) is extremely grumpy most days.

  12. This is a great idea Susan!!! I am doing well – I have my annual scans this Thursday with just the usual pre-scan anxiety. As far as the “5 reasons why I love being a Mother”… that may have a wait a bit. I am in the throws of teenage drama. “they” told me that it would happen at 12 and then again at 16 and “they” were right. An alien ship has decended and taken my lovely daughter and left me with this other child. I hope they hurry and return to make the switch. How this age got the name Sweet 16 I do not know…

  13. Hello all! I’m coming up on my 8 year anniversary of finishing chemo (for Hodgkin’s Lymphoma) and getting a clean PET scan. I can’t believe it is coming up on 8 years. It seems so long ago, but not that long. This summer I am looking forward to my first mammogram and MRI (I am at increased risk for breast cancer due to the rads I received to my chest). I thought it was going to happen last summer, but then my insurance said – no, wait until you are 8 years out from radiation. Maddening. Oh well, nothing to worry about here for now, so I am just plugging along with normal life.

  14. laurie says:

    I love seeing us all lined up here! It’s a beautiful day here in Ottawa as I get ready for my book launch this Thursday (I have some serious jitters). I also had another clean abdominal scan – got the news on Friday.

    On the less happy front, my truncal lymphedema seems to have switched from uncomfortable to painful (need to do something about that) and the effects of treatment (navelbine and herceptin, ongoing) seem to linger longer after each treatment.

    Still I am feeling lucky to be alive and active and doing so well. Getting my brain scanned tomorrow (my first MRI!). It’s just precautionary but I will let you all know what it’s like.

    L.

  15. Missy Diggs says:

    I’m here! Just finished six months of Xeloda, still on Tamoxifen and quarterly Zometa infusions. A year ago I finished my first six months of chemo, and it’s almost a year since my surgery. Living with lymphedema, both in my arm and my trunk. Clear PET scan last month, clear ultrasound last week. I’m scared, excited, exhausted, overwhelmed. Glad to be here, glad to have a five-and-a-half year old Vivid Girl to keep me going strong.

  16. Hi there,

    This David, Jenni’s ex. She has been in hospice for the last 3 weeks and is not doing well. She’s hoping to come home soon and update her blog,etc but we are not sure when. Sorry, but I’m not sure on how to update her blog and she said not to as she was hoping to be home soon. Unfortunately we don’t know when. will try to update on her blog soon if she isn’t home soon. Plese spread the word to pray for her as things have not been good.

    David.

