My PET/MRI Results

I had to wait until my appointment last Friday to get the results of my MRI and PET. I thought for sure Dr. Webster had bad news because she didn’t call and wanted to wait until she saw me to tell me, I was pretty much freaking out. But it turns out I have great news to share.

My PET showed no cancer anywhere in my body, including my lymph nodes and possibly not even in my breast. It picks up inflammation, so it’s hard to tell from a PET about the breast itself, but I am free and clear of cancer everywhere else.

My breast MRI showed no tumors in my breast and the report read ‘lymph nodes all appear normal’.  No cancer in lymph nodes! (appears at least) The tumors that were there before have dispursed (they were just clumps of IBC anyway not really solid tumors) and everything it did pick up said ‘possible whatever the word is for dead cancer’ meaning it didn’t pick up any definite live cancer in my breast, and what it did pick up could just be dead cancer or thick areas. She hadn’t seen the report when I arrived, and we read it for the first time together. That was nerve racking let me tell you. But reading for myself that the tumors are gone was huge as I had 3 when I was diagnosed with a possible lymph node that was enlarged.  Dr. Webster’s words were actually ‘it is the best possible news we could have gotten’.  So surgery is on for next Friday, Oct. 2nd. I can’t believe I’m actually typing that I’m having surgery next week, but I hear it’s true.

I wasn’t sure how to post my news because as happy as I was, I also felt guilty because of all the wonderful women I have met so far who didn’t get such great MRI news. I wasn’t even going to post it as I did, but then the last few days changed my mind because it IS GREAT news! Not just for me personally, but it means that the treatment itself is working, is doing it’s job. On a not personal basis, that’s wonderful news for IBC treatments in general.  I am responding to the chemotherapy and the last 6 months of chemo have been worth it. I have my LAST CHEMO tomorrow! Can you believe it??? My last chemo is tomorrow, I honestly can’t believe it. Cycle 12 of Taxol and my FIRST 3 week dose of Herceptin. I begin taking Herceptin only every 3 weeks tomorrow for an entire year, it will be given through my port. It isn’t chemo so the side effects are much milder I hear, and I shouldn’t have too hard of a time on it. I even get it through radiation which I will get every day for 6 weeks starting about 3 weeks after surgery.

crossposted on http://lynkelley.wordpress.com

8 Responses to My PET/MRI Results

  1. Stella says:

    Lynn – That is absolutely the BEST news!!! Never feel bad about sharing great news; every one rejoices with you! Congratulations!!!

  2. I too feel guilty about sharing good news… but we have to learn to celebrate when we can! Congratulations… we will be thinking about you on October 2nd!

  3. sprucehillfarm says:

    Great news! I am with Mary Beth good news is always good to post about!

  4. lorri s. says:

    Congrats! We celebrate with you!

  5. Great News Lynn, congratulations! Herceptin will be a breeze after the Taxol, I just finished a year of it with barely any side effects. Good luck with the surgery next week.

  6. Terry says:

    I raise a toast to you! Congratulations! I’m an ovarian cancer survivor and when I was in chemo I would have spells of exhaustion, heat, chills. My best friend was my ChiliPad – a mattress pad that lets you cool down (or heat up) your bed, mine lets me set any temperature between 46 and 118 degrees. Hope that tip helps someone else get comfortable!

  7. Jo says:

    That is great news and worth sharing!! Congratulations on getting such great results.

  8. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Hooray Lyn! Wonderful news should always be shared. 🙂

