Courage

“Courage doesn’t always roar.  Sometimes courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says I’ll try again tomorrow.”  ~Mary Anne Radmacher

courage night 135

On Friday my support group for young breast cancer survivors BCAUSE held it’s annual Courage Night. BCAUSE stands for Breast Cancer and U Support and Encouragement. Courage night  is a special night when we celebrate being breast cancer survivors. There are not many things to celebrate about having breast cancer, but once a year we all gather together for a party in our honor. It’s kind of like a big group birthday party. A celebration of life.

I am very lucky to have such a tight circle of strong woman to talk to, to lean on, and to celebrate with. I feel twice as blessed because of my online support group, Mothers With Cancer. I refer to my support groups as my “home” support group and Mothers With Cancer as my “bloggy” support group. 

We had a special speaker, Geralyn Lucas author of Why I Wore Lipstick To My Mastectomy. What a treat it was to meet her. She was so gracious and eloquent, a very kind and genuine person. She read an excerpt from her book, it was hard to listen with dry eyes. It was such a wonderful thing for her to be there. Traveling and making a special trip here to our little town to celebrate with us. She stepped into our group just as if she knew all of us personally.

It was a bitter sweet night. One of our founding members lost her battle with  Metastatic breast cancer last spring and it was our first courage night with out her there. She lived for ten years with metastatic breast cancer. We really missed her but I have a feeling she was there smiling down on all of us, happy that we could all be there joined together in a sisterhood of strength.

I can’t imagine not having someone to talk to while going through a thing as terrible as cancer. Knowing that there is someone just a phone call or a key board away has made a big difference in my life. I am very thankful for the friendships and strong bonds I have with these brave and courageous woman. If it were not for my cancer diagnosis I would have never had the privilege of meeting these wonderful young woman. breast cancer, any cancer for that matter is not a walk in the park. I would never ask for it. I am however blessed with a network of friends that I know are always just a click away. These woman have taught me a lot about life and living. Living with cancer, being happy in spite of it. It makes all the difference for me, it makes everyday easier to put my feet down on the floor and continue to fight.

Posted by Spruce Hill

2 Responses to Courage

  1. whymommy says:

    Being happy in spite of it. Love that.

    What a great group you have!!!

  2. clergygirl says:

    I loved that book! I read it in the days right before my mastectomies.

