Frankenlefty has left the building.

crossposted from ThrowsLikeAGirl

Or will have by 8 am tomorrow.  Same problem as last time.  Infected skin, no bacterial growth in cultures.  They took about 200 ml of fluid out of frankenlefty this morning.  Brought it down in size from a freakish stripper boob to a normal stripper boob.  Can’t tell you how much better that feels.  It had actually started to migrate to the right so I truly would have been uniboobed.  PS says I still have options.  I have to wait another 3 to 6 months to stabilize and we can work up a new plan.  Maybe one that doesn’t involve implants, depending on how frankenlefty looks without the expander.  That’s fine by me.

I have to admit there is just a tiny part of me that is glad to see it gone.  It’s been ridiculous, as I’ve mentioned before. I have to actually haul the thing up and out the window to reach things in a drive thru.  Definitely not going to miss that.  I will also be able to sleep on my left (once the drains are out.  Again.) without feeling uncomfortable.

Oh and I’ll have drains for Halloween.  I figure I can go as a Breast Cancer Awareness Borg.

I am 1 of 8.

Get your mammograms.

Resistance is futile.

5 Responses to Frankenlefty has left the building.

  1. clergygirl says:

    ughhh! I am so sad you’re having to go through this!

  2. love the ST reference.

    I wonder how many of us feel like we’re pseudo borgs….

  3. Kayleigh says:

    Sister borg here! I’ve had a wound VAC on Righty since my post recon skin necrosis….scarey costume unnecessary, for sure! Positively ghoulish.

    I’m sorry this has been such a saga for you….hopefully one day we’ll be able to look back on this and know the worst is behind us…at least that’s what I keep clinging to when it gets to me.

    Hang in there!

  4. sprucehillfarm says:

    Good luck today honey! Get some rest and heal. Everything will work out 🙂

    I like the borg idea 🙂

  5. whymommy says:

    Happy Halloween?

    Hope it’s been an easy rest of the week for you!

