aware of the irony

Life is funny.

This morning was perfect weather for a bike ride. The sun was out and the temperature climbed to 17C (that’s 62.6 in American). It was my first time on the bike in more than a week – since before the plague toppled my family, like a series of dominoes.

It was a fun ride, and I didn’t even mind the big hill I have to climb on my way to the hospital. I arrived twenty minutes after I set out, a little sweaty and with my heart pumping. As I locked up and headed into the cancer centre, I noted with pleasure that I hadn’t been coughing.

“It feels good to be healthy.”

I very nearly said it out loud.

I was suddenly struck by the absurdity of my situation. Here I was, going to get my bloodwork done the day before chemo and thinking about how healthy I am.

Three years ago, at almost exactly this time of year, I learned that my cancer had become metastatic. I don’t think I could have imagined this day, when I’d be riding my bike up Smythe Rd. and thinking about how healthy I am.

So, as I was saying at the beginning of this post – life really is pretty funny.

Cross-posted to Not Just About Cancer.

5 Responses to aware of the irony

  1. imstell says:

    I am so glad you are healthy. I know exactly what you mean. While I was doing chemo I felt the same way – most days… all healthy-as-a-horse except for that little cancer thing. 😉

  2. Lisa Doornik says:

    I always say that too, I’m healthy except for the cancer. Right before I was diagnosed I spent a week working in the yard including staining my deck. Last week, I painted 2 rooms in my house. It’s funny how on a cellular level we are sick, but in our lives, for the most part, we are so healthy. Thanks for sharing!

  3. when i saw the title of this topic (aware of the irony), i thought for sure it was going to be about the komen for the cure issue. (the irony is that susan was jewish and yet, no israelis were allowed to participate in the conference in egpyt a few weeks ago.) now THAT’s irony!

  4. treppenwitz says:

    @arnie… I have to believe that if religion or nationality other than Jewish/Israeli were used as admission criteria to a conference the UN security Council would be meeting on the topc and the Hague would have judges warming up in the bullpen. Sadly, when it comes to the boycott of Jews/Israelis, the world shrugs and says ‘what can we do?’

  5. Rahel says:

    @arnie and @treppenwitz: Could we be talking about Alex Bensky’s notorious “exception clause” here? Briefly, the “exception clause” is as follows:

    “According to my analysis, some time in the early 1920’s the League of Nations passed a resolution which is still an integral part of international law. This resolution provided that any statement of principle, any doctrine, any policy, or any precept by anyone, be it individual, organization, or government, tacitly contains the proviso ‘except for Jews.'”

    Those who are interested can read about it more extensively here.

