Well-done

Would be a nice way to describe my chest and lymph node area right now.  I think burnt to a gross bubbling curdling painful peeling mess is more accurate.  I am excited to say I finished radiation Monday of this week.  I went twice a day for 4 and a half weeks.  Even on Black Friday, they actually opened the place up just for me.  I didn’t miss a single appointment and when the machine broke I agreed to driving half an hour to a different facility.  When I woke up Tuesday morning, I was in a short state of confusion about what to do with myself.  Of course I have my 2 year old and 4 year old to keep me busy, and there’s holiday stuff to be done, but surely I should be at the cancer center at some point today right?  Then I remembered, nope I’m done.  From here it’s just Herceptin every three weeks with doctor’s appts. and check-ups.  Feels kind of strange after the last 8 months.  I asked when my first post-cancer scans would be and was told ‘not for a while’.  I’ll ask my regular oncologist at my appt. next week because I think I would like to know that I’m still clear.  As for regular life, I am looking to the future.  I enrolled to take a couple of medical classes starting Jan. 4th, thinking to combine my business degree and background and maybe work in the medical business field.  We’ll see.  It’s a nice relief to see a possible future after being diagnosed 8 months ago with IBC, what goals I’m working on don’t seem as important this minute as the fact that I’m still here to work on them.

2 Responses to Well-done

  1. I love the last line of your post… exactly was my response…”you are still here to work on them”…

  2. Spruce Hill says:

    What a wonderful feeling it is to be finished! Congratulations 🙂

