I am going in for round two with my cancer kicking boots on.

Flowers 019

In late February I found a lump in my neck under my collar bone. I didn’t think it was anything but went to the Doctor to get it checked out. I had an ultrasound after I came back from my trip and because of the location the doctors did not want to biopsy it. Last Friday I went in for a PET scan which basically is a full body scan with a radioactive contrast that lets doctors see cancer with out having to have surgery. My scan revealed that my cancer has come back. It started behind my implant and has spread.

This Monday I will have surgery to have my chemo port put in and to get a biopsy to make sure the cancer is the same as it was last time. Then Next Friday I will start my chemo. My chemo will go on a three week cycle and I will have two weeks of chemo and one week off. The drugs that my Dr is using are new drugs and he is very encouraged that they will work for my triple negative cancer.

Our Family is standing strong and being very brave, my girls and my husband Paul are so incredibly supportive and loving. I can not begin to tell you the love that I feel from them every minute of every day. I am truly blessed that they are mine.

This is not something that was even on my radar. I have been feeling a bit of pain in my chest but just thought it was my lymphedema bothering me. So My head is spinning and I have so many questions rolling around in my head, but for right now I am ready to fight. I am coming out with my pink boxing gloves on and my cancer ass kicking boots on. Cancer has picked the wrong chick!

Our family asks that you pray for us and that we can overcome this hurdle and come through the other side with a clean bill of health.

Sarah

Cross posted on Spruce Hill

 

16 Responses to I am going in for round two with my cancer kicking boots on.

  1. Oh sarah, how scary for you! I will pray for you and pray that the new medication works. You sound so strong–which i truly believe will save you.

  2. Stella says:

    Sarah – Thank you for reaching to us for support. I know you can and will kick the beast to the curb once again!

    Prayers as always,
    Stella

  3. lorri s. says:

    Sarah – praying for you and your family. Swinging my cancer kicking boots toward you. Sending love!

  4. Peggy says:

    Sara, I don’t know you, but my niece is Stella so I occassionally read the posts on this web site. My prayers are with you & your family. Trust in God & no matter what life doles out you will get through it & be stronger for it. Your children are learning from your example and what a marvelous one it is!!!
    Love & prayers,
    Peggy

  5. lisa says:

    well that just sucks! sending you and your family lots of prayers and good wishes

  6. k8 says:

    So sorry to hear this news – the news none of us wants to get…praying for you and your family…kick it right out of your body and off the planet! Good Luck and best wishes for the very best outcome….

    k8

  7. If there is anything you need from your “sisters” PLEASE do not hesitate to ask. Put those pink boxing gloves on and kick butt… your whole family is in my prayers. You go girl…

  8. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Kick some cancer ass, Sarah.

  9. sprucehillfarm says:

    Thank you ladies! You are all the greatest! ❤

  10. Jenster says:

    I didnt’ comment earlier, but you HAVE been in my prayers and my thoughts. I’m not so very far away from you so if you ever need anything please let me know. I’m always up for a road trip!

  11. Dear Sarah-

    I will be praying and believing in your healing!

    Recite this verse to yourself over and over: Jesus turned and saw her. “Take heart daughter”, he said, “Your faith has healed you.” And the woman was healed from that moment. Matthew 9:22

    Write it on an index card, put it on your mirrors, your pocket and just keep believeing it. God does heal, even healed the paralyzed man who was not a believer.

    I have the very same verse everywhere right now, as I am having a terrible time with reconstruction, infection, etc. I refuse to go online and google delayed reconstruction or to speak negativly. I am only focusing and trusting God to heal me (and you).

    I will be praying for your strength Sarah and a lot for your loved ones…I found it harder for them, than cancer was on me. I will pray for peace and comfort for your children and husband, and that God brings you a bounty of help with cleaning, meals, etc. I wish I lived closer, so I could help you physically.

    I am always here Sarah if you need someone! XO Heidi Zeigler

  12. Darryle says:

    You know I heard this news a few days ago but came back just to let you know you’ve been in my heart ever since.

  13. Mandy says:

    My mom started her second round of chemo today. She has ovarian cancer. I will praying for you! God our Father is the ultimate Healer!! He is so faithful!! Keep trusting!! 🙂

  14. […] it REALLY sucks that my friends Sarah and Judy and Frances and Stella and Sheri and Susan R and Lorri and Mary Beth and Jenster and […]

  15. New treatments = New hope.

    All the things you learned the first time around will help you adjust and move forward this time around.

    If I may offer a tip from having raised my three children through my recurrent cancer: Your girls may want and need explanations for things you thought they already knew and understood. Children can use the right words (e.g., cancer, scans, counts) seemingly in the right way before they understand what many of the words mean.

    Let me know how I can be of support in the coming weeks and months.

    With hope, Wendy

  16. Lara says:

    Dear Sarah, you sound a brave and courageous person who is facing a test for the strongest of all. Thinking of you. lara from Australia. xox

