A milestone by Lyn

Well  I made it.  I finished my year of Herceptin last week.  I knew the day would come, but I almost can’t believe it.  I see my oncologist again in 3 months, and I admit I am looking forward to the break.  Even better, I am getting my port out in 2 weeks.  I can’t wait for that either.  As for what is next, they tell me I am cancer free, but you all know how that goes, and how fearful it is to worry about a recurrance.  But I am going to be positive, and try to be a bit more spontaneous in the coming year.  I have been tied down to doctor appointments and check ups and physical therapy and recovering, that it is all I have been able to think about, but now I am going to attempt thinking past IBC and the possible recurrance. 

Another big decision, dh and I decided recently to put my reconstruction on hold until my daughter is in kindergarten.  She is 3, so about 2 years.  My skin is so damaged from twice a day radiation that implants are not an option at this time anyway, so the only way to be reconstructed is with the TRAM or DIEP and that is such a huge surgery and recovery.  It’s not sensible with 2 very young children and noone to help out while I am recovering.  Part of me is nervous about the decision, but even more I am relieved because I don’t think I am up for such a large surgery so soon after the last one. 

If you are Her-2 positive, ask your doctors about joining the Neratinib Trial.  It was presented to me, and I have decided not to do it.  But I think it will be very beneficial and help us combat cancer.  My decision was a personal one, but I fully support the trial and believe it will help extend our lives even further.

One Response to A milestone by Lyn

  1. Jennifer says:

    I am a 41 year old mother of three diagnosed about the same time as you and also went through bilateral mastectomy/chemo. The psychological impact of constantly worrying about the return of BC however is the most devastating part for me. I hate to burden those I love talking about it endlessly. Thanks for your blog as it helps to hear about others going similar roads. I am sorry you are traveling this road though. Good luck!

